LibGuides: Afro-Latina/o Studies: Primary Sources

U.S. Afro-Latina/o Databases

Want to know more about primary sources? Check out this link Find Primary Sources to learn more.

African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Most current file. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with sophisticated technology permitting precise search and browse capabilities. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's authoritative reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies.
Some of the titles included in this access are:
- African American Artists before the Twentieth Century
- African American National Biography
- Africana
- Black Women in America, Second Edition
- Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
1967 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
1964 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
19th century - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Includes nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Users will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. Currently has over 106,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Colonial times - 1960. Unlimited users.
Provides access to a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes historical articles, newspapers, religious pamphlets, broadsides, historical books, letters, short stories, poems, advertisements, and more. The content is in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), and is searchable in both languages. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.

Archival Collections

TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) contains finding aids with descriptions of the archival holdings of the Benson Latin American Collection. You can search for names of collections, subjects, specific materials or countries that are held in our rare books and manuscripts collection.

VOCES Oral History Project

Onda Latina: The Mexican American Experience

Black Diaspora Archive Miscellaneous Manuscripts

U.S. Latinx Zine and Graphic Novel Collection

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, it helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Colonial times - 1960. Unlimited users.
Provides access to a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes historical articles, newspapers, religious pamphlets, broadsides, historical books, letters, short stories, poems, advertisements, and more. The content is in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), and is searchable in both languages. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 This link opens in a new window
1880 - 1930. Unlimited users.
Primary source documents of investigations made by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files:
- Part 1: Asian Immigration and Exclusion, 1906-1913
- Part 1: Supplement: Asian Immigration and Exclusion, 1898-1941
- Part 2: Mexican Immigration, 1906-1930
- Part 3: Ellis Island, 1900-1933
- Part 4: European Investigations, 1898-1936
- Part 5: Prostitution and White Slavery, 1902-1933
- Part 6: Suppression of Aliens
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
19th century - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Includes nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Users will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. Currently has over 106,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
1840 - 1950. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly (until completed). Provides a view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. When completed, will include more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Currently contains 342 authors and approximately 37,500 pages of information.

Center for Puerto Rican Studies (CENTRO)
CENTRO, the Center for Puerto Rican Studies, is a uniquely innovative university-based research institute located at Hunter College, City University of New York (CUNY), and dedicated to the interdisciplinary study and interpretation of the Puerto Rican experience in the United States.
Chicana por mi Raza
Chicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective is a group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era.

African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
1827 - 1998. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly (until completed). When completed, will provide online access to approximately 270 African American U.S. newspapers. Features papers from more than 35 states. The newspapers were scanned from the collections of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Citations to articles, essays and book reviews relating to Latin America or from Latin American periodicals. Primarily Spanish, English and Portuguese titles.
Hemeroteca Digital de Chihuahua This link opens in a new window
1994 - present. Unlimited users.
Contents of thirty-six newspapers and news magazines from Chihuahua, Ciudad Juarez, Ciudad Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City and El Paso, TX.
Click "ingresar" to enter the database. UT affiliated users are authenticated by IP address and do not need to enter a username and password before clicking "ingresar".
Please check out this tutorial for more information on how to best use this resource.
Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1808 - 1980. Unlimited users.
Provides access to a large compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project", a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos.

Library Catalog: Search for newspapers held at the Benson Latin American Collection by doing a 'Subject heading' search for newspapers [place]. Ex. Brownsville (Tex.) Newspapers

Contact

Maribel Falcón

Email Me

Online Newspaper

Palante
Palante (1970 - 1976) was a bilingual newspaper published by the Young Lords Party. The group was founded in July 1969 as the New York chapter of the Young Lords Organization and renamed itself in May 1970 after separating from the Chicago Young Lords.