Library databases and Google can't be searched the same way so take a few moments to come up with a search strategy before diving into a database.
Step 1: Think about the key concepts of your topic and search those instead of an entire phrases or sentences.
Step 2: Think of other terms you could use that are synonyms or related (they could be a broader or narrower aspect). This often requires that you do a little background research to learn more.
Step 3: Connect your terms using AND and OR:
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
Use this table to decide whether to use a multidisciplinary or discipline-specific tool.
|Type of Tool||About||Start Here|
Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)
If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.
If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you. This option could take up to 10 days during the pandemic. (Normally it just takes a few days.)
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.