Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

AEP-Advance

A course guide for International Office AEP advance students taught by Smyth

Find Sources

Find Sources

To find a specific book or books on a particular topic, start with UT library catalog. The catalog will tell you which books we own, and will give you the location and call number you need to find the book on the shelf.

Find books beyond UT Libraries

Use specialized search tools such as:

  • WorldCat searches books from libraries all over world.
  • Google Books searches the full text of millions books.
  • If you find a book that the libraries do not own, you can request a copy or individual chapter via Interlibrary Services.

How can I use books in my research?

  • Get broader coverage of a topic than articles do and more in-depth coverage

  • Learn more about the relationship between different concepts and topics

  • When the Libraries purchases books, we usually get materials recommended by scholars or faculty members in the subject.

  • To find historical perspective

Tip: It can take over a year for many academic books to be published. Use articles to find information on a very current topic.

You can use Search on the Library homepage to search across various book and article databases simultaneously. Many article databases, however, aren’t included in that search tool. To find the best resources for your topic, you might want to go directly to a specific database.

Find the best database(s) for your research topic:

  • General, multidiscipinary databases are a good place to start since they include both popular and scholarly journal titles covering numerous disciplines. Simply choose one of those databases and type in your keywords to begin to find articles. 

  • Academic Search Complete: multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports.
  • Web of Science :indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
  • Browse for databases by subject (such as EconomicsElectrical Engineering, or Art History) if you want to dig deeper into resources covering a specific discipline. If you aren’t sure what subject to choose, look for the academic department that your class is listed under. Once you’ve chosen a subject, search for your topic in one or two of the recommended databases that are listed on the right side of the subject page.

  • Browse for databases by type if you want to find other kinds of formats, such as encyclopedias, newspapers, government information sources, statistics, maps, images and more.

If you have an article citation:

  • The Citation Linker will look across various databases to find whether or not we have access to the article online or in a journal on the library shelves. You need a journal title and publication date to use the Citation linker. 

If you are looking for articles by a particular author:

  • google scholar: provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources.

Journals are collections of articles that are published on a regular basis to report current research within a discipline.

  • A journal is made up of a number of volumes
  • Each volume is made up of individual issues
  • Each issue of a journal is made up of journal articles
  • Journal articles report specific aspects of the research covered by a journal.

If you need to find out more information about a journal, Ulrichsweb is a database that indicates which of the 300,000 listed journals are peer-reviewed

Newspaper search can be found under "Resource Type" on your search result page. 

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.