LibGuides: UGS 303: Gender, Slavery and Freedom / Berry: Finding scholarly articles and books.

Databases I recommend for this class

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
database that covers many disciplines.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Good history database.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Another history database to try.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociological literature.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - you'll be overwhelmed by results because this resource searches full text. But, give it a try!
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

What's the deal with Google Scholar?

Google Scholar searches many of our subscriptions with that comfy Google interface and proprietary algorithm.

Is everything 'scholarly'?

No, make sure to take a look at the original source. Who wrote it? Was it published? Where?

Sometimes I can get the articles when I search Google Scholar, sometimes I can't.

If you're off campus, this likely means you need to 'sign in' to our subscriptions. Head to www.lib.utexas.edu, choose the Articles tab on the blue search box and click the Google Scholar link:

I got, like, a million results in Google Scholar.

Try using the advanced search, which isn't very advanced. It's the downward pointing arrow at the end of the search bar. You're better off strategizing a better set of keywords.

Books are never peer reviewed, but they can be scholarly.

Take a look at who wrote the book. Where do they work, what else have they written? Another clue may be the press that publishes the book - is it affiliated with a university?

Library Catalog
This is the advanced search.