LibGuides: UGS 302: Chinese Politics &amp; Society in Film / Lu: Find Sources

News

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
One of our most comprehensive news databases. Contemporary in coverage. The search is built for precision rather than exploration; use limiters.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
One of our most comprehensive news databases. Contemporary in coverage.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
coverage up to 2018. Read American news articles written during the time periods and events you are exploring.
Updated annually. Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
More recent years are also available in other full text resources.

Sixth Tone
State-owned English language news outlet based in Shanghai
The China Project
an English language news platform about China based in the US

Additional Primary Sources

News articles written at the time of an event taking place are primary sources. Here are more primary sources to consider.

I chose the following for you, but you can use the main search bar to find additional similar sources: www.lib.utexas.edu

World Bank Publications This link opens in a new window
Research into worldwide economic issues, beginning in 1946.
Updated daily. An online collection of more than 130,000 World Bank documents and publications. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable PDF format.
The World Bank is one of the United Nations' specialized agencies, and is made up of 187 member countries. All World Bank publications and research working papers are now assigned with DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).

The Great Famine in China, 1958-1962 by Xun Zhou (Editor)
ISBN: 1280770449
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
China Candid: the People on the People's Republic by Ye Sang
ISBN: 1282771868
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The Corpse Walker by Liao Yiwu; Wen Huang (Translator); Philip Gourevitch (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780375425424
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Visualising China, 1845-1965 by Christian Henriot (Editor); Wen-hsin Yeh (Editor)
ISBN: 1283854651
Publication Date: 2012-01-01

Scholarly articles (peer reviewed research)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
multi-disciplinary. Good starting point.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary. Good starting point.
Updated daily. Gale Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text articles are available in both PDF and HTML. Includes The New York Times from 1985, The Economist from 1988 and The Financial Times from 1999. It also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
A complete title list is available here
PAIS This link opens in a new window
politics, policy, government. Western in perspective.
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.

Main library search
This is that big search bar on the main library website, but I have used the Articles and More limiter below it and have selected the advanced search.

You can use this tactic in any multi-line (advanced) search in any database. If you want to view this image larger, right click.

The New York Times

The New York Times offers incomparable coverage of national and international news.

As a UT student, you have free unlimited access to the New York Times at nyt.com. This includes Cooking, Games and the Athletic. Your access to nyt is directly through the site and the app, not through our databases, which makes the reading experience easier and more enjoyable.

You may download the nyt app to your phone and access the full subscription.

Being an informed citizen makes doing research in every subject easier, makes you a better communicator and a more empathetic human.

Use this guide to set up your account.