LibGuides: UGS 302: Sexual Violence Across Mexican Cultures / González-López: Finding Sources

Academic

Academic Search Complete
Start here. It has a little bit of everything.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Articles and books in sociology.
Chicano Database
Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Primary Sources

Latin American Newsstand
Includes Mexico - some newspapers are in English.
Ethnic NewsWatch
This database allows you to search newspapers and publications from ethnic and minority press in the US.

Texas After Violence Project: Oral Histories
Hundreds of hours of in-depth personal testimonies that reflect a wide array of perspectives and experiences with interpersonal and state violence. Narrators include murder victim survivors; the loved ones of people that have been executed by the state; the loved ones of those that have been killed by police; prosecutors and defense attorneys; judges, jurors, law enforcement and corrections officers; formerly incarcerated people; clergy, activists, and advocates. *Please note that many of these interviews contain descriptions of violence. Although the content itself is not visually graphic, the material may still be upsetting to some viewers.*

Demographic data and statistics

Statista
Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data
Torn Apart / Separados: Interactive Data Visualization
A rapidly deployed critical data & visualization intervention in the USA’s 2018 “Zero Tolerance Policy” for asylum seekers at the US Ports of Entry and the humanitarian crisis that has followed.

Don't give up!

Sometimes you find an article, but can't find the link to open the pdf or html to read the full text. Do you see this button?

Click it! It will talk to our other databases to find the article full text.

Sometimes you're asked to pay for an article. Of course, do not do that. You already pay for subscriptions here at UT (thanks!). Sometimes you're asked to sign into a subscription and your EID/password doesn't work.

If you're being asked to pay for an article or sign into a subscription, two things could be happening:

You are doing your searches on the Web and not on our databases. Our databases exist on the deep Web and cannot be searched via standard search engines.
The article is not covered in our subscriptions. Gather all the info about the article you can and fill out the form for Interlibrary Loan, which could take as little as a couple days for an article to be emailed to you.