LibGuides: E 349S: Charles Dickens, Carol Mackay: Home

Welcome!

This library guide was designed by Gina Bastone, the English Librarian, specifically for E 349S: Charles Dickens, taught by Prof. Carol MacKay.

Research Help

Email Gina, your course librarian, if you run into issues finding articles and books. Her email address is g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu
Schedule a research consult – get live help from Gina, tailored to your chosen topic(s) for the oral presentation or your research papers.
Use the Ask A Librarian Chat Service, available until 9 pm, Sunday-Thursday. (This option is good for help after 5 pm.)

Library Access to the BBC adaptation of Bleak House

Use this link to access the first episode
Click on the link that says "Academic Video Online: Premium - United States". All other episodes will auto-play from this link. If you have questions about this access, contact Gina or use the Ask A Librarian chat.

Resources for Research in this Class

MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this collection includes scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Recommended for your research papers.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

UT Library Catalog
Search the UT Libraries' collections of print books, ebooks, and films. You can search for scholarly books about the texts you are reading in class, as well as the texts themselves.
Recommended for your research papers.
The JSTOR Understanding Series
This innovative tool from JSTOR allows you to browse the entire text of a literary work, and see the scholarly articles that cite particular lines of text. It's an excellent way to find scholars' close readings of a particular passage. It includes most of Dickens' major works.
Recommended for both your presentations and your papers.
**Note: This tool sometimes does not work off campus, and it can be slow to load. Notify Gina if you run into trouble with it.**

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Find brief biographical articles about key figures in British history, including Dickens and his contemporaries.
Recommended for your oral presentations.
Updated three times per year. Biographical dictionary of people of distinction in the British Isles and its colonies who died before December 31, 2000. Provides signed articles, each with a bibliography of resource materials, written by specialists. Content includes the complete text of the new sixty-volume Oxford DNB with 50,000 biographies and 10,000 portrait illustrations as well as the complete text of the original thirty-three volume of the DNB.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a message to this effect will be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of scholarship and reference works for literary studies. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, a scholarly index to rival the MLA.
Recommended for your presentations and your papers.
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A thorough database that includes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works. It includes the long-running series Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Recommended for your oral presentations.
Updated regularly. Full-text database that provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. The database offers a variety of search options, including searches by person or work. Content comes from a variety of sources, including the following major reference sources: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.

Humanities Librarian

Gina Bastone

she/they

Contact:

g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Disability Studies, English Literature, LGBTQ Studies, Rhetoric, Women's and Gender Studies

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required