LibGuides: E 349S: Faulkner and Paredes, Lydia CdeBaca-Cruz: Home

Home

Welcome!

This library guide was designed by Gina Bastone, the English Librarian, specifically for E 349S: Faulkner and Paredes, taught by Prof. Lydia CdeBaca-Cruz.

Research Help

Email Gina, your course librarian, if you run into issues finding articles and books. Her email address is g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu
Schedule a research consult – get live help from Gina, tailored to your chosen topic(s) for the oral presentation or your research papers.
Use the Ask A Librarian Chat Service, available until 9 pm, Sunday-Thursday. (This option is good for help after 5 pm.)

Library Resources for This Class

1. Theory & Seminal Scholarship

Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
Find lengthy, yet accessible, overview articles on key literary theories and theorists. For example, get an overview of Foucault and post-structuralism or Beardsley and New Criticism.
Updated irregularly. Includes 241 alphabetically arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats figures who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography, and there are extensive cross references both within and at the conclusion of each entry. Chronological range extends from Plato and Aristotle to the present, with wide geographical and cultural coverage.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Find annotated bibliographies covering seminal books, articles, and scholars on many disciplines and sub-disciplines. These annotated bibliographies are written and edited by top scholars in their field and serve as an excellent model for your bibliography assignment!
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.

The Complete Cambridge Companion to Literature Series
Cambridge University Press's long-standing series, great for overviews and discovering top scholars in sub-fields. NOTE: Some titles are in print; others as ebooks.

2. Reference

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Arguable, the definitive dictionary of the English language, most useful for it's etymologies and examples of usage over time.
Updated quarterly. Covers words from across the English-speaking world and offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and phonetic pronunciation. Corresponds to the print Oxford English Dictionary published in 1989 and the three Additions volumes published 1993-1997.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
A dictionary of words, phrases and pronunciations that vary across the United States. This dictionary is helpful for regional vocabulary unfamiliar to you, though it is limited in scope.
Documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another across the United States. DARE is based on face-to-face interviews carried out in all 50 states between 1965 and 1970, and on a comprehensive collection of written materials including diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, newspapers, and more, from the colonial period to the present day.
The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases.
Selected maps show where words were found in the 1,002 communities investigated during the fieldwork.
Some entries include audio recordings of the original DARE field interviews.
For a written or oral word to be included in DARE it must be a regional or folk term. Words from a standard dictionary are not included.
The DARE database can help with research along the lines of the well-cited “Pop vs Soda” debate.

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms (2001 edition)
Limited to 1 UT Austin user at a time.
Find simple, straightforward definitions to complex literary terms.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms (1990 edition)
Unlimited UT Austin users.

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive database on literary studies, and includes many encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference ebooks related to literary topics. It also include scholarly journal articles – it can be a great place for an all-in-one search.
Updated regularly. Full-text database that provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. The database offers a variety of search options, including searches by person or work. Content comes from a variety of sources, including the following major reference sources: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.

American Folklore by Jan Harold Brunvand
Publication Date: 2006
Difficult to use, but containing over 500 articles spotlighting folk literature, music, and crafts; sports and holidays; tall tales and legendary figures; genres and forms; scholarly approaches and theories; regions and ethnic groups; performers and collectors; writers and scholars; religious beliefs and practices. Each article accompanied by a brief, up-to-date bibliography.
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore by Rafaela Castro
Publication Date: 2000
Limited to 6 UT Austin users at a time.

Dictionary of Chicano Folklore charts the rich religious, social, artistic, and cultural heritage of Mexican Americans, who continue to evolve the customs and rituals connected to their Spanish and indigenous roots and the Spanish language. Entries cover specific regions, genres of folk speech, folk narrative, cultural traditions, artifacts, foods, ceremonies, rites, and define contemporary Hispanic terms ranging from duendes, pintos, and las posadas to pachucos, low riders, and Zozobra.

3. Scholarly Databases for Books & Journal Articles

MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Humanities Librarian

Gina Bastone

she/they

Contact:

g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Disability Studies, English Literature, LGBTQ Studies, Rhetoric, Women's and Gender Studies