LibGuides: E 350V: Contemporary Gothic, E. M. Richmond-Garza: Recommended Search Tools

Recommended Scholarly Search Tools

About this Guide

Gina Bastone, the English Librarian, created this guide specifically for E 350V: Contemporary Gothic, taught by Dr. E. M. Richmond-Garza during Fall 2021. This guide has links and resources that will be helpful your assignments, especially the Research Report and Analytic Research Essay.

Scholarly journals and books are expensive and often behind paywalls. The UT Libraries pay for subscriptions to databases and journals, and the links below will take you to UT's access, requiring a UT EID login. Some links go to open, free databases. However, these databases only list the journal articles. You will need to use UT's Articles & More search to get the PDFs of the articles.

MLA International Bibliography
A helpful database of scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations on literature, film, literary studies, and criticism.

See this video tutorial to learn how to search the MLA Bibliography.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly journals on film, cultural studies, and film criticism.
Updated monthly. Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals, books, and more covering art and art history. Includes scholarship on a range of mediums, including electronic art, illustration, comics/sequential art, and more.
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
EBSCO search tutorials: http://support.epnet.com/training/tutorials.php

UT Library Catalog
Search the UT Libraries' collections of print books, ebooks, and films. You can search for scholarly books about films, as well as find streaming access to films assigned for class.
The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
A free database hosted by the Texas A&M Libraries, you can search for scholarship on science fiction, horror, fantasy in film, television, and literature.
**NOTE: This is not a full-text index. You will need to search UT's Articles & More tool to get PDFs.

Unsure what we mean by "scholarly" or "peer reviewed"? See this guide to the common types of scholarly sources.

Types of Sources

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Humanities Librarian

Gina Bastone

she/they

Contact:

g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Disability Studies, English Literature, LGBTQ Studies, Rhetoric, Women's and Gender Studies

Ways to Get Help

When you're searching for sources for this class, you are not alone! Library staff can help, whether you use Google or the library website.

Research consultations: Gina Bastone, the English Librarian, is available for one-on-one research consultations. She can help you find articles and books on your chosen topic. Email her to set up an appointment: g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu
Live chat: Use the Ask A Librarian chat service to get help in real-time to track down articles and citations.
Get A Scan: We can't subscribe to every journal or newspaper, and we can't buy every book. But, we can get PDFs from other schools through a service called Get A Scan.