This library guide was designed by Gina Bastone, the English Librarian, specifically for E 375J/LAH 350: Drama of Jamestown, taught by Prof. Hannah Wojciehowski.
Research Help
Email Gina, your course librarian, if you run into issues finding articles and books. Her email address is g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu
Schedule a research consult via Zoom – get live help from Gina, tailored to your chosen topic(s) for the oral presentation or your research papers.
Historical documents specific to the founding of the Jamestown colony, covering 1590-1790.
This collection of the Ferrar Papers, 1590-1790, from Magdalene College, Cambridge, is an essential source for the study of the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period. It documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624; the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas; trade between Britain and America; the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia; and tensions among the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans. It is also a crucial source for London's economic history in the Early Modern era, and will be of interest to social and religious historians.
A broader collection based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography of books, pamphlets, serials and other documents covering early U.S. history, including the early British colonies.
Provides over 14,000 primary source titles based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana. Materials describe every aspect of life in the Western Hemisphere from 1500 to the 1890s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Searchable in a variety of ways, including: author, title, year of publication, and subject.
Detailed annotated bibliographies compiled by scholars. Find relevant bibliographies for this course under "Atlantic History" and "Renaissance and Reformation."
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
Search the UT Libraries' collections of print books, ebooks, and films. Much of the relevant scholarship for this course is likely in full-length scholarly books and anthologies.
Arguably, the key database for literary studies scholarship, including key journals, scholarly anthologies and monographs. Note that the interface is provided through EBSCO, but the content is produced by the MLA (Modern Language Association).
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
An important database for scholarship by historians and history scholars, includes journals and books.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
This innovative tool from JSTOR allows you to browse the entire text of a literary work, and see the scholarly articles that cite particular lines of text. It will be most useful for finding scholarship on The Tempest.
**Note: This tool sometimes does not work off campus, and it can be slow to load. Clearing your cache and deleting browser cookies usually fixes the problem. But notify Gina if you continue to have trouble with it.**
A database of journal articles and books about Shakespeare. Note this an index and the material is not in full-text. Once you identify a useful source, you may need to use the library search to find it in full-text.
Updated quarterly. Provides annotated citations for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to William Shakespeare. Coverage is international.
