Not just personal collections of pictures on this site. Has expanded after a joint venture between Flickr and the Library of Congress. Purpose is to increase access to publicly held image collections. Includes images with no known copyright restrictions which you can find by using Advance Search. Growing number of collections like the Library of Congress, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Briitsh Library, etc. are placing their material on this site. You can also help tag these images.
Can search by keyword. If go to Advance Search can filter by usage rights and bring up images that are free to use. Also works when you have an unknown image by doing a reverse image search. Take the URL or the unknown image itself, go to Google Images and drop it into the Image Search Bar to find out what it is. Method works best if that image already exists somewhere on the web
Grew out of University of Oxford's lantern and glass slide collection from the 1890s to 1950. Brings together scholars, software developers and a world-wide community of 'citizen scientists' to keyword and identify old photos of monuments, landscapes and environments taken across the world and to re-photograph their modern settings so the results of changes and the implications of these changes can be studied. Many images of archaeological sites included. For educational purposes only.
Huge collection of images, both national and international in scope. When copyright is an issue, only thumbnails are provided. When images are in the public domain, images are available for download, although resolutions vary. Includes the American Memory Project of digitized American history material.
(NYPL) Free and open access to over 800,000 images that are digitized from the Library’s Collections. Of note are the Arts & Literature Collections: Africana & Black History, Dance in Photographs and Prints, and the Vandamm Archive featuring "theatrical personalities and production" from the 1920s-1957.
TinEye is a reverse search engine that searches billions of images. When you upload an image TinEye will provide information on other versions of that image that are available and the source of the image.
All media repository. Unlike its partner, Wikipedia, images included here are in the public domain and freely licensed for educational use. Museums such as the Walters Art Museum, the British Museum and other museums are placing their copyright –free images on this site also.