LibGuides: MUS 381- Digital Humanities: Project Examples

Digital Exhibits

Digital exhibits display objects such as text, images, audio, video, and art in an online setting. When creating a narrative through a digital exhibit, much like a physical exhibit, you need to understand how visitors are consuming and understanding the story you are telling.
Online exhibits are usually available to most people around the world who have internet access, while physical exhibits are limited to users who are in the physical area.
Digital exhibits can remain accessible over time, preserve materials that are now living online, and can continually be updated.

Sound and Documentary in Cardiff and Miller's Pandemonium

An interactive digital companion to a master's report.

Umi's Archive

Umi's Archive is a multipart, multimedia research project that digs deep into the life of one woman, Amina Amatul Haqq (1950-2017), neé Audrey Weeks, to explore the meanings of being Black in the world. Umi’s Archive launched as a “(re)claimed space where we remember and dream” in 2021 with a six-part online exhibition series curated by scholar-artist-activist, Su'ad Abdul Khabeer. (Description from Umi's Archive)

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are tools that help researchers in analyzing, and visualizing spatial data

Spatial data: the geographic locations of significant buildings, events, or notable individuals.

Relaciones Geográficas

Among the holdings of the Benson Latin American Collection, Joaquín García Icazbalceta's Collection of Relaciones Geográficas of Mexico and Guatemala is consistently a major attraction for visiting scholars. The collection comprises original manuscript accounts and artistic renditions of the local geography with dates ranging from 1578 to 1586. There were 191 responses to this questionnaire, of which the present location of 167 are known, including the 43 held by the Benson Latin American Collection. The other known existing Relaciones Geográficas are held by the Archivo General de Indias, Seville, and the Real Academia de la Historia, Madrid.

Technology used

Getting Started

Presenting Geospatial Research with ArcGIS

Alternatives

StoryMapJS
See Guide to DH Mapping

Historical Soundscapes

Paisajes Sonoros Históricos (c.1200-c.1800) / Historical Soundscapes is a website designed to explore historical urban soundscapes in cities around the world, aided by the outreach potential made possible through new technologies. Historical Soundscapes is essentially a cartographic project, since the incorporation of its content, in the form of micro-articles or ‘events’, takes the geolocation of different spaces as its starting-point. This innovative approach will allow users to recreate music of the past in historical locations through the use of online interactive maps with digital resources (documents, videos, sounds, etc.). The contents aim to be inclusive and help achieve a better understanding of urban culture, establishing an aesthetic and intellectual dialogue with their sensorial aural history through an interdisciplinary approach that brings together urban musicology with areas including cultural history and art history, among others. This portal intends to become a useful and innovative tool for educational and cultural leisure institutions, taking a further step towards an effective and real transfer of knowledge that reduces the gap between academic research and public knowledge. (Description from project website)

Network Visualization: Visualizing Social Networks: Palladio and the Encyclopédistes

Visualizing Social Networks: Palladio and the Encyclopédistes, Pt I
There are numerous digital tools for studying networks that can be of use to humanists. One such tool is Palladio, a digital humanities package developed in the Humanities + Design Lab at Stanford University.[1] Palladio lends itself to qualitative studies because the visualizations that it produces (maps, network diagrams, and tables) are familiar to most humanists, and because it allows for the filtering of data through categories chosen by the user. Digital tools offer an opportunity to pursue such research with lower technical barriers to intervention—including easier communication, tools for sharing data, and collaborating on writing. Visualization tools like Palladio allow academics to produce their own diagrams without necessarily hiring a designer.
Visualizing Social Networks: Palladio and the Encyclopédistes, Pt II
In this post, we will focus on how we can use Palladio to visualize networks. A network can link people, places, books, or any other entities that are connected to one another. People or groups are commonly nodes in graphs of social networks. The Age of Revolutions provides many examples of networks that can be studied from a theoretical or a technical perspective: courts, Masonic temples, literary circles, Jacobin clubs, militias, scholarly and correspondence networks—to name a few.

Technology used

Data transformation and manipulation (exact tools unknown)
Metadata schema
Palladio

Getting Started

Alternatives

The Shoals & The Wake

We all have different relationships with the sea. But what about those moments just before? What does it look like to stand on the edge of the water and decide to go in? I use Tiffany Lethabo King's understanding of the "shoal" to discuss just before we enter to the water- what pushes us in & what holds us back.

The Shoals & The Wake Timeline

Technology used

TimelineJS

Getting Started

Timeline JS Guide