LibGuides: Finding News: Rates, Reports, and Data

Resources

Winmo This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited.
Updated periodically. Winmo, formerly Redbooks, provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertising agencies and advertisers.Includes detailed profiles of over 10,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies. Profiles include agency accounts, specializations, billings by media, and agency family trees. Also includes information on over 15,000 U.S. and international advertisers, which are companies that spend a significant portion of their annual budget on advertising. Includes specific advertising data such as approximate annual advertising spending by media and agencies retained by the advertiser. Also includes a job search site for openings in the advertising industry.
Standard Rate & Data Service This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
If you encounter a "log in" prompt hit log in and you should be taken to the our access
Updated monthly. Provides media rates and data for the advertising industry, listing advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other basic information for a variety of advertising media, including radio, television, newspapers, and consumer magazines.
These are the titles included in our subscription:
- Business Publication Media
- Consumer Magazine Media
- Digital Media
- Direct Marketing
- Local Media by DMA
- Newspaper Media
- Radio Media
- Out-of-Home Media
- TV & Cable Media

Complete Broadcasting Industry Guide: Television, Radio, Cable & Streaming
PCL Stacks HF 6146 R3 B732
Includes twelve major sections, with the “big three” – television, radio and cable – the most detailed. This guide includes professional services from producers and engineers to equipment manufacturers and legal services, as well as those who consult and advocate for this diverse industry.

Ad Age Data Center This link opens in a new window
Unlimited users.
Ad Age Data Center offers profiles of top advertisers, agency and media family tree reports, advertising spending data, industry contacts, ad industry job market data and ranked lists of top media markets and media formats.
Includes access to the Hispanic Fact Pack which can only be accessed through this separate link: Hispanic Fact Pack.
Selected sections of the site, such as white papers, require independent subscription or user registration as an individual, apart from the institutional subscription maintained by the UT Libraries. Look for an icon indicating "University of Texas - Austin University Library" at the upper right corner of the screen for pages covered by our subscription.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited.
Updated periodically. Winmo, formerly Redbooks, provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertising agencies and advertisers.Includes detailed profiles of over 10,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies. Profiles include agency accounts, specializations, billings by media, and agency family trees. Also includes information on over 15,000 U.S. and international advertisers, which are companies that spend a significant portion of their annual budget on advertising. Includes specific advertising data such as approximate annual advertising spending by media and agencies retained by the advertiser. Also includes a job search site for openings in the advertising industry.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Report embargo; 70 days from the current date. Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts.
In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you then need to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include the ""utexas.edu"" domain [e.g. @mccombs.utexas.edu, @mail.utexas.edu, @austin.utexas.edu]. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @utexas.net] will not be accepted.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides population, housing, industry, economic, and geographic data and maps from the U.S. Bureau of the Census.

Data Axle This link opens in a new window
1996 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States. Information includes name of business, address, telephone number, headquarters, branch and subsidiaries identification, SIC codes, yellow pages headings, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume. Also includes some federal, state, and municipal offices.
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides business news, opinion, and latest published reports help users to understand key trends and events, while qualitative and quantitative data and analysis support business research programs.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Contains 700+ industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
IBISWorld’s industry risk rating reports are intended to be used alongside financial statement analysis to provide a full forward-looking picture for strategic planners, bankers and aspiring industry entrants. These US industry risk rating determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.
Note: IBISWorld promotes reports on the Web that they either plan to or are willing to write. If someone purchases one of these reports, then IBISWorld will produce the report and include it in our package.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.
Covers:
- Advanced Materials
- Biotechnology
- Energy And Resources
- Fuel Cell And Battery Technologies
- Healthcare
- Information Technology
- Instrumentation And Sensors Manufacturing
- Membrane And Separation Technology
- Nanotechnology
- Pharmaceuticals
- Plastics
- Semiconductor Manufacturing

Standard Rate & Data Service This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
If you encounter a "log in" prompt hit log in and you should be taken to the our access
Updated monthly. Provides media rates and data for the advertising industry, listing advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other basic information for a variety of advertising media, including radio, television, newspapers, and consumer magazines.
These are the titles included in our subscription:
- Business Publication Media
- Consumer Magazine Media
- Digital Media
- Direct Marketing
- Local Media by DMA
- Newspaper Media
- Radio Media
- Out-of-Home Media
- TV & Cable Media
Media Intelligence Center This link opens in a new window
Current year plus 10 year archive. 3 users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to current and historical audited circulation reports and publishers' statements for newspapers, consumer magazines, and business publications.

Media Planning and Buying Calculators

Definitions, Formulas and Calculators

Definitions, Formulas and Calculators

Definitions, Formulas and Calculators

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required