This library guide is the one-stop place for students in Prof. Field's PBH 365 class to access course materials throughout Fall 2025.
The course materials are arranged below to show e-books available through the library, print books available at the Life Science Library (LSL) desk and the titles from National Academies Press (NAP) that are free and online.
To see a listing of the course materials, except for the NAP titles, click here. To see the entire list, click on Load More Results.
Click on the e-book titles below to see access and view online options. Not all of the e-books can be licensed for unlimited simultaneous use. For e-books with limited users or single user access that means access is limited to 3 simultaneous users or 1 user. If you see a message "this eBook is in use", try accessing it again later.
*The title, Population Health Informatics, can also be accessed at the LSL desk.
Infectious Disease Epidemiology
by
Infectious Disease Epidemiology: An Introduction is a foundational textbook for public health and related health science degrees. It provides a comprehensive public health strategy for understanding and managing the spread of infectious diseases. This unique book offers an integrated approach that covers the important methods underlying the discipline of infectious disease epidemiology, while also illustrating key social and environmental factors critical for understanding disease spread and its effect on population health. The book is divided into four parts that cover the entire scope of infectious disease origin, spread, and management. It breaks down factors leading to disease emergence and modes of transmission, the social, behavioral, cultural, and environmental dimensions that contribute to communicable spread and severity, as well as the tools used for disease detection, surveillance, control, and eradication. It discusses the latest knowledge and technologies in the field--including specific coverage on the role of big data and digital disease detection, the impact and challenges of vaccines, and much more. Core epidemiologic principles are explored through rich real-world examples, utilizing a combination of case studies, popular media examples, and didactic exercises. Each chapter has an engaging narrative and includes key terms and definitions, insightful vignettes, visually compelling illustrations, thought questions, and discussion questions to foster critical thinking and spark further investigation. Infectious Disease Epidemiology: An Introduction is an essential resource for students of public health and other health professionals in developing a nuanced and comprehensive understanding of this growing and dynamic field. Key Features: Provides students with an integrated approach illustrating important epidemiologic methods and tools in the context of current and historic real-world examples Uses multidisciplinary approaches to contextualize broader socio-behavioral factors and disparities in infectious disease Illustrates how novel methodological and technological advances support progress in infectious disease epidemiology Poses engaging discussion questions in each chapter that help guide in-class discussions and group work Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers, and qualified instructors also have access to a full suite of instructor resources
Public Health Informatics and Information Systems
by
This 3rd edition of a classic textbook examines the context and background of public health informatics, explores the technology and science underlying the field, discusses challenges and emerging solutions, reviews many key public health information systems, and includes practical, case-based studies to guide the reader through the topic. The editors have expanded the text into new areas that have become important since publication of the previous two editions due to changing technologies and needs in the field, as well as updating and augmenting much of the core content. The book contains learning objectives, overviews, future directions, and review questions to assist readers to engage with this vast topic. The Editors and their team of well-known contributors have built upon the foundation established by the previous editions to provide the reader with a comprehensive and forward-looking review of public health informatics. The breadth of material in Public Health Informatics and Information Systems, 3rd edition makes it suitable for both undergraduate and graduate coursework in public health informatics, enabling instructors to select chapters that best fit their students' needs.
Public Health Informatics and Information Systems
by
This revised edition covers all aspects of public health informatics and discusses the creation and management of an information technology infrastructure that is essential in linking state and local organizations in their efforts to gather data for the surveillance and prevention. Public health officials will have to understand basic principles of information resource management in order to make the appropriate technology choices that will guide the future of their organizations. Public health continues to be at the forefront of modern medicine, given the importance of implementing a population-based health approach and to addressing chronic health conditions. This book provides informatics principles and examples of practice in a public health context. In doing so, it clarifies the ways in which newer information technologies will improve individual and community health status. This book's primary purpose is to consolidate key information and promote a strategic approach to information systems and development, making it a resource for use by faculty and students of public health, as well as the practicing public health professional. Chapter highlights include: The Governmental and Legislative Context of Informatics; Assessing the Value of Information Systems; Ethics, Information Technology, and Public Health; and Privacy, Confidentiality, and Security. Review questions are featured at the end of every chapter. Aside from its use for public health professionals, the book will be used by schools of public health, clinical and public health nurses and students, schools of social work, allied health, and environmental sciences.
Population Health Informatics
by
Population Health Informatics addresses the growing opportunity to use technology to implement evidence-based solutions for the improvement of population health outcomes. While most health informatics texts take a hospital-centric approach, this innovative new first edition focuses on how to operationalize informatics solutions to address important public health challenges impacting individuals, families, communities, and the environment in which they live. Population Health Informatics uses a practical, step-by-step approach to implement evidence-based, data- driven population informatics solutions. Perfect for students of public health and other interdisciplinary fields with an interest in population health informatics, this book fulfills a key component of the new Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH) recommendations for "Critical Content of the Core for a 21st Century MPH Degree." Demonstrates how technology can be used at the intersection of clinical care and health sciences to strengthen efforts for preventive care at the population level. Offers practical coverage of critical topics such as big data, cloud computing, mobile health, surveillance, and visualization--all from the perspective of the end user using simple, reader friendly language. Uses a grassroots approach to technology interventions and solutions, providing students with a clear understanding of how to address the needs of various health technology stakeholders. © 2019 | 426 pages
Digital Health Care
by
Digital Health Care: Perspectives, Applications, and Cases explores the trends, perspectives, and cases of Digital Healthcare and Informatics (DHI) that are transforming healthcare across the globe.Organized in 5 major connecting parts, this well-conceived text begins by laying out foundational DHI themes before focusing in on key DHI core technologies, developments, methods and challenges - from big data analytics & artificial intelligence to security and privacy issues, clinical decision support systems, consumer health informatics, and more. It then explores DHI emerging technologies (e.g. sensors and wearable electronics), and concludes with short case studies and critical case questions designed to reinforce conceptual understanding.Written for undergraduates health professionals, this accessible text offers a multidisciplinary perspective that is suitable for use in variety of healthcare disciplines-from allied health and nursing to health administration, public health, and health informatics. Each chapter follows a consistent structure that comprehensively covers a specific DHI topic(s) and related key technological components along with workplace practices from a multidisciplinary perspective.Real world cases studies (in Part 5) help students understand key and illustrate how they can been applied in real-world settings.Clinical innovations and techniques for evaluating clinical outcomes, such as improved care, performance improvement, and cost reduction in clinical settings, are explored and emphasized throughout the text.Technology and issues that a transforming the health care industry are explored including standardization, artificial intelligence (AI), cloud computing, medical sensors, enterprise architectures, and precision medicine.Navigate eBook Access (included with the printed text) provides online or offline access to the digital text from your computer, tablet, or mobile device Healthcare InformaticsHealthcare information technology Healthcare systems analysis and designInformation Systems for allied healthNursing Informatics © 2023 | 350 pages
Public Health 101
by
From clean drinking water, to seat belts, to immunizations, the impact of public health on every individual is undeniable. For undergraduates, an understanding of the foundations of public health is an essential step toward becoming an educated citizen. Public Health 101: Improving Community Health, Fourth Edition by Riegelman and Kirkwood provides a big-picture, population perspective on the determinants of health and disease and the tools available to protect and promote health.Through a unique set of case studies, vignettes, and extensive examples, readers will come away with a clear understanding of how public health affects their everyday lives. They will learn and apply frameworks for thinking about public health issues and gain a deeper understanding about the health news they are exposed to each day. New case studies on folic acid and spina bifida, the opioid epidemic, athletic health injuries, mPox, and the patient safety movement.Interactive COVID-19 case studies revised and consolidated to take an historical perspective on the COVID-19 pandemic.Updated materials for each chapter including Healthy People 2030, pandemic prevention, new vaccines, environmental justice and climate change, and academic health departments.New Boxes in each chapter including misinformation/disinformation, suicide, health advocacy, national dietary guidelines, and open notes.Improving Population Health interactive exercises retained from 3rd editionUpdated faculty resources, including Instructor's Manual with sample answers to most case studies, test bank, sample examinations, sample syllabus, PowerPoint slides, and videos with annotations for each chapter.Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. A great add on to any introductory Jones & Bartlett Learning public health or epidemiology text, Navigate Essentials: Public Health 101 Interactive Lectures provide students with a fun and engaging way to learn what Public Health is and how it is relevant in their lives. Contact your Account Manager to learn more or to request a demo. Undergraduate Introductory courses in Public Health © 2025 | 400 pages
Clinical Informatics Literacy
by
Clinical Informatics Literacy: 5000 Concepts That Every Informatician Should Know is about all aspects of clinical informatics, a subset of the larger field of biomedical informatics. Clinical Informatics is an applied field that exists at the intersection of the fields of medicine, computer science, information science, anthropology, human factors engineering, cognitive psychology and health services research. As such informaticians are required to have an extremely broad understanding of a considerable swath of the fields at the heart of the health-oriented knowledge economy. The author has collected and explained each one of the relevant concepts during his experience of 27 years working with many of the leaders in the field of clinical informatics at several of the leading academic healthcare institutions around the USA. The author's experience and his didactic approach make this book an essential source of information for all participants in the clinical informatics field.
Clinical Informatics Study Guide
by
This completely updated study guide textbook is written to support the formal training required to become certified in clinical informatics. The content has been extensively overhauled to introduce and define key concepts using examples drawn from real-world experiences in order to impress upon the reader the core content from the field of clinical informatics. The book groups chapters based on the major foci of the core content: health care delivery and policy; clinical decision-making; information science and systems; data management and analytics; leadership and managing teams; and professionalism. The chapters do not need to be read or taught in order, although the suggested order is consistent with how the editors have structured their curricula over the years. Clinical Informatics Study Guide: Text and Review serves as a reference for those seeking to study for a certifying examination independently or periodically reference while in practice. This includes physicians studying for board examination in clinical informatics as well as the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) health informatics certification. This new edition further refines its place as a roadmap for faculty who wish to go deeper in courses designed for physician fellows or graduate students in a variety of clinically oriented informatics disciplines, such as nursing, dentistry, pharmacy, radiology, health administration and public health.
These titles are from the National Academies Press.
Click on the title and select Download Free PDF or Read Free Online.
The Life Science Library (LSL) is located in the Tower (Main Bldg) on the 2nd floor.
See LSL hours, contact info and location details here.
Ask for PBH 365 course materials and the title(s) you need at the desk. Because the print course materials are shared, they check out for 2 hours.
*The title, Population Health Informatics, can also be viewed online.
Health Informatics
by
The electronic health records specialist : focusing on the role for organizational success
by
Health Information Technology and Management
by
Based on extensive experience in the field, this book will introduce readers to the principles and practices of Health Information Management through understanding of Health Information Technology and its application today. Topics covered in the book are based on the core competencies defined by AHIMA as well as HIPAA regulations and JACHO recommendations. To prepare for twenty-first century healthcare occupations, the reader needs to understand the connectivity and applications that make up Health Information Systems of today. The book will provide readers with a thorough understanding of both the terminology of Health Information Technology and the practical use of Information Systems in actual medical facilities. Ample illustrations make it easy to visualize workflow scenarios and technical concepts. Photographs of healthcare providers using various HIT systems and medical devices make it easy to see the practical applicability in a medical office.
Population Health Informatics
by
Population Health Informatics addresses the growing opportunity to use technology to implement evidence-based solutions for the improvement of population health outcomes. While most health informatics texts take a hospital-centric approach, this innovative new first edition focuses on how to operationalize informatics solutions to address important public health challenges impacting individuals, families, communities, and the environment in which they live. Population Health Informatics uses a practical, step-by-step approach to implement evidence-based, data- driven population informatics solutions. Perfect for students of public health and other interdisciplinary fields with an interest in population health informatics, this book fulfills a key component of the new Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH) recommendations for "Critical Content of the Core for a 21st Century MPH Degree." Demonstrates how technology can be used at the intersection of clinical care and health sciences to strengthen efforts for preventive care at the population level. Offers practical coverage of critical topics such as big data, cloud computing, mobile health, surveillance, and visualization--all from the perspective of the end user using simple, reader friendly language. Uses a grassroots approach to technology interventions and solutions, providing students with a clear understanding of how to address the needs of various health technology stakeholders. © 2019 | 426 pages
EID login required
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.