Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Standards, Codes, & Specifications

Databases

Finding Engineering Standards through Library Databases

NOTE: We have a continuing problem with the IHS standards.  Please contact Larayne Dallas for help. 

**  **

To work around the problem, please go directly to IHS at this LOGIN link.  (9/8/2022)

**  **

  • Subscriptions.  We subscribe to standards from several of the major U.S. standards-issuing organizations. 
  • Known standard.  To find a standard from one of those groups, locate the right database (below) and note any special instructions for accessing and using the product.
  • Identifying a standard when you don't already know which one it is.  If you wish to search across the standards of multiple issuing organizations, try the IHS database (entering through the ACI Standards, for example) but remember that access to the text of a standard you identify may be through another database --- for example, through the ASTM database.  Another option for broad searching is Global IHS.
  • When the Libraries don't have the standard.  And, if the UT Libraries don't have the standard you need:

Finding the Right Standards Database

To gain access to standards from a known organization, use the table below and click on the title link to go directly to the appropriate database.  Please read the corresponding notes.

BEFORE using the IHS databases:

  • Users need to register for a free account in order to access standards on the IHS platform. ASME BPVC and ESDU will be accessible through the same login credentials.  
     
  • Our IHS subscription only includes current standards [although for some Codes we do have earlier editions --- usually that would be in print.]
     
  • ICC and ASME through IHS require users to download and use a free Adobe Acrobat plug-in to view their secure PDF standards. Once in the database, click on the yellow lock icon yellow lock iconfor more information. The plug-in may not work properly in Chrome.

 

Please Note: International Standards (ISO, IEC, ITU, DIN, etc.) are not collected by the University of Texas Libraries. Go to the IHS Standards Store to purchase copies of standards from all national or international organizations and many companies. 

ALSO: We don't subscribe to ANSI standards, UNLESS they are co-sponsored by one of the following groups:

Society Notes
AASHTO 
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

You may limit to AASHTO by going (in ASTM Compass) to "My Subscription" and then going down the page to select AASHTO.

AASHTO's academic subscription --- the one offered to us --- excludes some current standards.

ACI 
American Concrete Institute
Once in the database select "IHS Engineering Workbench"
API 
American Petroleum Institute
You may limit to API by going (in ASTM Compass) to "My Subscription" and then going down the page to select API.
ASCE 
American Society of Civil Engineers
Once in the database select "IHS Engineering Workbench"
ASHRAE 
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers
Once in the database select IHS Engineering Workbench

ASHRAE Handbooks 

[older print handbooks can be found in the catalog]

Once in the database select IHS Engineering Workbench” and type "ashrae handbook" in the keyword search field.
ASME 
American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Once in the database select "IHS Engineering Workbench

ASME requires users to download and use a free Adobe Acrobat plug-in to view their secure PDF standards.  For more information, once in the database, click on the yellow lock icon This plug-in may require extra steps with Chrome.  IHS staff advise turning off the built-in viewer in Chrome if a "Failed to Load PDF" message displays.

ASME 

BPVC Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code  

Once in the database, select "IHS Engineering Workbench" and then look on the left for "ASME BPVC"
[includes the following versions: 2019, 2015, 2013, 2010, 2007, 2004, 2001, 1998]

ASTM 
American Society for Testing and Materials

 

You may limit to ASTM content by going (in ASTM Compass) to "My Subscription" and then going down the page to select ASTM.

In addition to ASTM standards and research reports - ASTM Compass now includes full-text access to all ASTM journals, Special Technical Publications (STP), manuals/monographs, data series, proceedings, bulletins, and materials research and standards.  

*We also have many ASTM STPs (special technical publications) in print. Go to the catalog and type in "ASTM special technical publications" in the title field.

AWS  
American Welding Society

 

You may limit to AWS by going (in ASTM Compass) to "My Subscription" and then going down the page to select AWS.

ICC 
International Code Council

*Only the current editions are available online, for historical editions go to the catalog and search by the title of the code.  Example: International Building Code (in print)
 

Once in the database select ”IHS Engineering Workbench” type ICC in the document number search box.

ICC requires users to download and use a free Adobe Acrobat plug-in to view their secure PDF standards.  For more information, once in the database, click on the yellow lock icon This plug-in may require extra steps with Chrome.  IHS staff advise turning off the built-in viewer in Chrome if a "Failed to Load PDF" message displays.

IEEE
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Click on Browse near the top left and select Standards
IESNA 
Illuminating Engineering Society of North America
Once in the database select IHS Engineering Workbench
NESC 
National Electrical Safety Code and Handbook

 

NFPA 
National Fire Protection Association
Once in the database select IHS Engineering Workbench

Librarian

Profile Photo
Larayne Dallas
Contact:
I'm glad to meet by Zoom or in person (my desk is in EER 1.706). But before you make a special trip, please check to make sure I'm available.
(512)-495-4503
Website

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

ASTM, AASHTO, API, and AWS Standards

Many of our standards subscriptions are arranged through IHS.  ASTM, AASHTO, API, and AWS standards are separately available via:

  • For ASTM material (including standards, journals, STP, proceedings, etc.) use the search box on the home screen.
  • If you wish to limit your search to API, AASHTO, or AWS standards, look under the OTHER PUBLISHERS heading (see below the main search box) and select from the list.

IEEE Standards

IEEE standards, a large and important group of standards, are available through IEEE Xplore:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.