LibGuides: Classics: Digital Texts

Classics : Digital Texts

Major Collections

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content across more than 520 volumes from up-to-date texts and accurate and literate English translations facing each other page by page.
The entire classical heritage from the ancient Greek and Roman world is represented here in convenient electronic “volumes”. In the Loebs, you can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content across more than 520 volumes from up-to-date texts and accurate and literate English translations facing each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG) Online This link opens in a new window
Newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents (from archaic Greek texts up to the 8th century A.D.)
SEG collects newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents (from archaic Greek texts up to the 8th century A.D.) and presents the complete Greek text and critical apparatus of new inscriptions. Additionally, it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, occasionally also mentioning their original text. For complete coverage, consult print.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity.
Jacoby Online is a digital edition of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity. Brill's New Jacoby, Second Edition is a revised edition of Brill's New Jacoby. The commentaries on the ancient authors in BNJ have been extensively revised, bibliographies have been updated, and, especially important, an apparatus criticus and discussion of the provenance of each fragment have been added, which sets BNJ 2 significantly apart from the previous editions.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Searchable online full text containing virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600. Log in with both UT EID *and* personal log-in for full access.
Updated quarterly. Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, plus historiographical, lexicographic, and scholiastic texts from the period between 600 and 1453. The canon amounts to approximately 80 million words of text. A polytonic Greek font must be installed on your computer in order to view some work titles that appear in Greek.

TLG requires users to register and login using an account.
Oxford Scholarly Editions This link opens in a new window
A sub-set and selection of Oxford University Press’s trustworthy online editions of annotated primary texts in Latin Poetry, Latin History, and Greek Tragedy. [Description excerpted from OUP:] OSE Editions include tracking textual variance between different editions, as well as adding rich layers of interpretative annotation. [The interface provides] a very focused advanced search tool allowing searchers to fine-tune parameters, for example looking within stage directions or the recipients of letters, first lines or critical apparatus.
Trustworthy, annotated primary texts in the areas of Latin Poetry, Latin History, and Greek Tragedy.

OSEO currently includes writers active between 701 and 1901, plus Roman and Greek authors.
Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Greek texts (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Collects the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Philosophical and theological writings from Latin Christianity up to the year 1216.
Updated quarterly. Covers philosophical and theological writings from Latin Christianity up to the year 1216. Includes bibliographic information from works concerning patristic and monastic thought as well as philological and theological learning, humanistic and ecclesiastical thinking. Contains 221 volumes (the complete electronic version) of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers are also there.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
Open Access! The largest dictionary of the Latin language in existence, begun in 1894 and continuing today. The dictionary focuses on Latin from 600AD and earlier. This open version includes PDFs of print volumes to date.
Ancient World Online
Blog providing up to date massive quantities of links to new Open Access digitized content. Also available (syndicated) through Facebook & Twitter.
Biblioteca digitale di testi latini
Chronologically follows Phi Latin, currently covering "pagan" texts, with free use and downloading.
Corpus Medicorum Graecorum
Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Galen of Pergamum and others
Open Greek & Latin
"An international collaboration committed to creating an open educational resource featuring a corpus of digital texts, deep-reading tools, and open-source software. [striving] to support and enhance teaching and research. All materials can be downloaded, modified, and redistributed in accordance with all applicable licenses."
PHI Latin Texts
Packard Humanities Institute
Open Access! Searchable classical (and later) Latin texts

Perseus texts
Primary sources (major texts) covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. All texts and materials believed to be in the public domain are available for free download.
Perseus Advanced Search with PhiloLogic
Largely from the Perseus corpus, “The Greek and Latin texts are richly encoded for content rather than form (e.g., not page breaks, initials, and indents, but speaker information, metrical information, and milestones). The Perseus site is further enriched by intricate linking mechanisms among texts (resulting in more than 30 million links).”

Library of Humanistic Texts (University of Birmingham, UK, Philological Museum at the Shakespeare Institute)
Full-text collection of critical editions (frequently with translations) of a large number of 16th and 17th century texts. It is created and maintained by Dana F. Sutton, University of California, Irvine.
Bibliography of Neo-Latin Texts on the Web (University of Birmingham, UK, Philological Museum at the Shakespeare Institute)
Analytic bibliography of Latin texts written during the Renaissance and later. Freely available to the general public on the Web, and created and maintained by Dana F. Sutton, University of California, Irvine.

Logeion provides simultaneous lookup of entries for ancient Greek & Latin words in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection. A simple word look-up is supplemented by information based on corpus data in the right side bar, as well as references to chapters in standard textbooks. Standard works include historic versions of Liddell-Scott and Lewis & Short.