LibGuides: Classics: Classical Images

Classical Images

Classical Images
Numismatics / Coins

Arachne, central "object" (image) database for the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne. Especially strong on building images. Ongoing digitization of "traditional" documentation and new material, including extensive descriptions and metadata. Free, but requires account.
ARTstor (UT-Austin users only)
Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians. In order to take advantage of all the features of ARTstor, and to access the mobile version of the site, you must register with the service. The registration form is visible once you enter the database.
ARTstor System Requirements.
Beazley Archive (University of Oxford archive)
Largest collection of photos, pottery, gems and gem references. Searches subsets of casts, Etruscan terracottas, gems, pottery.
Classical Art Research Centre (University of Oxford)
Images including Pottery, CVA (Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum), Gems, Photographs & Slides, Inscriptions

CVA - Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum

Search or browse the CVA, photographs and descriptions of ancient vases found in museums and collections across the world. Search by theme, or browse by location.

LIMC (Lexikon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae)
Iconographical (mythological) documents from both France and elsewhere that have been catalogued and analyzed by the French LIMC team. LIMC-icon is not an electronic version of the print-only Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classica;, it is an independent and complementary source of information.
Médailles et Antiques de la Bibliothèque nationale de France
Strong collection of coins, medals and antiquities . Search in french!
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin (SMB catalog, "State" Museums of Berlin)

Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Linking or indexing of over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images.
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
EBSCO search tutorials: http://support.epnet.com/training/tutorials.php
DASE (Digital Archive Services) Collection This link opens in a new window
DASE is a web-based repository for digital images, sound, video and documents. Material on this site may be used for educational purposes by current faculty, students, and staff of the University of Texas at Austin. Use of these materials and resources is restricted by applicable license agreements and copyright law.
DASE is a web-based repository for digital images, sound, video and documents. Material on this site may be used for educational purposes by current faculty, students, and staff of the University of Texas at Austin. Use of these materials and resources is restricted by applicable license agreements and copyright law.

CRRO: Coinage of the Roman Republic Online
Starting with the British Museum's Roman Republican coin collection, and adapted and updated from Michael Crawford's (1974) Roman Republic Coinage.

OCRE: Online Coins of the Roman Empire
Images of coins contributed from the American Numismatic Society, the Münzkabinett of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, the Römisch-Germanische Kommission of the Deutsche Archäologische Institut, and the Academia Romana.

Médailles et Antiques de la Bibliothèque nationale de France
Strong collection of coins, medals and antiquities . Search in french!

Numismatische Bilddatenbank Eichstatt
Searchable images of 7,500+ coins from Katholischen Universitat Eichstatt

Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum
British Academy Research project, working towards publishing illustrated catalogues of Greek coins from the British Isles. Includes public and private collections.

TIP: Use "search all" box at lower right of search form. British spellings (ie harbour not harbor).