is the international bibliography of record for the field of classical studies; contains information about publications of all kinds dealing with every aspect of Greco-Roman antiquity. Monographs, articles, dissertations, book reviews, etc. Includes works on early Christian texts.
Updated annually. Corresponds to the printed L'Annee Philologique, the international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and classical studies. Provides 350,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to the present, with 12,500 new records added each year. The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers.
provides electronic access by author, title, subject, and keyword to articles published in periodicals and journals, essays and articles published in multi-author monographs, and book reviews in the fields of religion and theology. Coverage includes most of the major journals for patristics and early church history, including Church History (full-text), Journal of Early Christian Studies, Zeitschrift für antikes Christentum, Vigiliae Christianae (full-text) and the Patristic and Byzantine Review.
Updated twice per year. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.
Access to full text portion of this resource is funded by the the Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies.
Texts are from the Corpus Patrum Latinorum (including the Corpus Christianorum, Series Latina, and the Continuatio Mediaevalis), as well as the Vulgate, Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament, the complete works of Augustine, Jerome, and many others.
Available only in the University of Texas Libraries on library work stations.
A searchable database of Christian Latin texts from the late second century to the fifteenth, including those among the "most important of the occidental tradition" (CETEDOC manual, 1996). Texts are from the Corpus Patrum Latinorum (including the Corpus Christianorum, Series Latina, and the Continuatio Mediaevalis), as well as the Vulgate, Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament, the complete works of Augustine, Jerome, and many others.
Patrologia Graeca contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Collects the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century.
The Patrologia Latina Database (PLD) is a comprehensive electronic version of the Latin portion of Jacques-Paul Migne's massive Patrologiae Cursus Completus, including notes, glosses and indexes.
Updated quarterly. Covers philosophical and theological writings from Latin Christianity up to the year 1216. Includes bibliographic information from works concerning patristic and monastic thought as well as philological and theological learning, humanistic and ecclesiastical thinking. Contains 221 volumes (the complete electronic version) of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers are also there.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453 CE. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Before you begin, you may select a Greek font for your session. A polytonic Greek font must be installed on your computer in order to view some work titles that appear in Greek. To save your searches and set your default preferences, you need to establish a personal account.
Updated quarterly. Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, plus historiographical, lexicographic, and scholiastic texts from the period between 600 and 1453. The canon amounts to approximately 80 million words of text. A polytonic Greek font must be installed on your computer in order to view some work titles that appear in Greek.
Recent years have witnessed significant discoveries of texts and artefacts relevant to the study of the Old and New Testaments and remarkable shifts in scholarly methods of study. The present volume mirrors the increasing specialization of Old Testament studies, including the Hebrew and Greek Bibles, and reflects rich research activity that has unfolded over the last four decades in Pentateuch theory, Septuagint scholarship, Qumran studies and early Jewish exegesis of biblical texts. The second half of the volume discusses the period running from the New Testament to 600, including chapters on the Coptic, Syriac and Latin bibles, the 'Gnostic' use of the scriptures, pagan engagement with the Bible, the use of the Bible in Christian councils and in popular and non-literary culture. A fascinating in-depth account of the reception of the Bible in the earliest period of its history.