LibGuides: AMS 370: Women Radicals and Reformers: Secondary Sources (Scholarly Journal Articles)

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

A significant piece of your final assignment is to include secondary sources that offer analysis and interpretation of the person, event, or movement you are covering through your primary source research. Here are links to databases that contain scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, scholarly books, and book chapters.

UT Libraries Catalog
The best way to discover books and ebooks in the UT Libraries' collection is to use our library catalog.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Also includes scholarly sources such as books, book reviews, and dissertations.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history from around the world. Includes other scholarly sources such as books and dissertations.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A HUGE comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with scholarly journals, mainstream magazines/new sources, and many other resources.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Another HUGE comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of scholarly journals, with backfiles as far back as the late 19th century.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
The definitive database of scholarly literature on queer and transgender topics, along with coverage of women's studies and feminism. Includes journals, books, and magazines.
This comprehensive database is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life contains indexing and abstracts for more than 250 LGBT-specific core periodicals as well as periodicals in Women’s and Gender Studies. It also contains more than 350 books and reference works.
LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News and Bay Windows. LGBT Life also provides indexing and abstracts for the full run of many historically significant titles such as ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, Christopher Street and Body Politic. In addition, LGBT Life includes other source types such as monographs, reference books, newsletters, case studies and speeches. It also provides relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
Find book reviews on subjects such as art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music science & technology and more. Many of the reviews are serious, academic works.
Brings together book reviews on subjects such as art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music science & technology and more with coverage back to 1983. Many of the reviews are serious, academic works.
MLA International Bibliography
An excellent collection of scholarly journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and bibliographies on topics around literary studies, language, literary criticism, and more!
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.