Find Sources for your Research - UGS 302: Music and Psychology - Domjan - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Start with Background information

If you've ever used Wikipedia, you already know the value of starting your research by looking at background information. These specialized background sources can help you in the same way.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 8 users.
An enhanced electronic version of the print Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians providing the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource on all aspects of music. Includes regular online updates of the complete text of the print edition with links to thousands of images, digital sound files and other related web sites.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Source Type	Start Here
Scholarly Articles	The Library Databases, see recommendations below
Journalism/News	Google or the UT Libraries NexisUni database. Make sure to evaluate unfamiliar publications.

Keyword tool
Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.

Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distill what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases,

Key Concepts

rap

stereotypes

African-American

Related Terms

hip-hop

drill

prejudice

discrimination

racism

black

Combine key terms using AND and OR:
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles).
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).
Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search.

Best Bet Databases for your Class

Articles & More Advanced Search
This is the advanced version of the library Articles & More search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Popular and scholarly sources from across disciplines
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Psychology articles
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Music articles
Updated quarterly. Contains records describing articles in over 640 international periodicals in the field of music and related disciplines. Includes book reviews, recording and performance reviews, and obituaries.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.

Where is the article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.

FInd Music

Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
Includes pop, jazz, world music, classical and more
Provides access to a streaming audio collection that supports the teaching and research of music. It currently includes access to over 7 million tracks from almost 70,000 albums, with new titles added each month. Music Online: Listening provides coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres:
- Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
- Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
- World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups.
- American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
- Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.

Find CDs and DVDs to Check Out

Click on Books & Media (under the search box on the Libraries home page) to get to the Library Catalog.

Do a search for the artist or album and then narrow by Resource Type (on the left) to audio or video. You can find recordings on vinyl and cds as well as DVDs of musical performances and documentaries.