Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Public Health

NEW! or Notable

NEW! Strengthening the Disaster Resilience of the Academic Biomedical Research Community: Protecting the Nation's Investment

FREE PDF downloadable at https://www.nap.edu/catalog/24827/strengthening-the-disaster-resilience-of-the-academic-biomedical-research-community

"The academic biomedical research community is a hub of employment, economic productivity, and scientific progress. Academic research institutions are drivers of economic development in their local and state economies and, by extension, the national economy. Beyond the economic input that the academic biomedical research community both receives and provides, it generates knowledge that in turn affects society in myriad ways.

"The United States has experiences and continues to face the threat of disasters, and, like all entities, the academic biomedical research community can be affected. Recent disasters, from hurricanes to cyber-attacks, and their consequences have shown that the investments of the federal government and of the many other entities that sponsor academic research are not uniformly secure. First and foremost, events that damage biomedical laboratories and the institutions that house them can have impacts on the safety and well-being of humans and research animals. Furthermore, disasters can affect career trajectories, scientific progress, and financial stability at the individual and institutional levels.

"Strengthening the Disaster Resilience of the Academic Biomedical Research Community offers recommendations and guidance to enhance the disaster resilience of the academic biomedical research community, with a special focus on the potential actions researchers, academic research institutions, and research sponsors can take to mitigate the impact of future disasters."

 

NEW! APHA Center for Climate, Health and Equity

From https://www.apha.org/topics-and-issues/climate-change/center:

The center works to:

  • Raise awareness, so everyone in the U.S., beginning with the public health field, recognizes the urgency of practices, policies and individual choices that address climate change and improve public health.
  • Enable an environment and culture in which "climate healthy" and equitable choices are easy choices.
  • Promote policies focused on environmental justice and health equity designed to address climate change adaptation and mitigation.
  • Support science that clarifies the health impacts of climate change, as well as offers solutions and policies to guide decision makers.
  • Lead. APHA is recognized as the leading voice around the connection between climate change and health.

Our vision for America is that climate change is treated as a national priority with broad political and social support. In our vision, the nation will address climate change in ways that improve public health and health equity, creating the healthiest nation in one generation.

NEW! Climate Change, Health, and Equity: A Guide for Local Health Departments

"As one of the biggest public health threats today, climate change is a health equity issue. Authored by Public Health Institute, with support from APHA, the Kresge Foundation and the California Department of Public Health, Climate Change, Health, and Equity: A Guide for Local Health Departments is designed to help local public health departments integrate climate change and health equity into practice. ... The guide includes overviews of climate science, health impacts of climate change and how health equity fits into the equation. It discusses what local health departments can do to include climate change and health equity into assessment and surveillance, intersectoral collaboration, community engagement and eduation, climate and health communications, preparedness, and more."

NEW! Gun Violence Archive, Mass Shootings Data

"The Gun Violence Archive [GVA] was established in Fall of 2012 as an independent research and data collection group to provide comprehensive data for the national conversation regarding gun violence. GVA worked with several groups which collected statistics of the 2013 toll of deaths by gun violence. When GVA consolidated these projects in late 2013, the mission was expanded to also document the tens of thousands of gun related injuries and other gun crime.  The overall goal of GVA is to provide the best, most detailed, accessible data on the subject to add clarity to the ongoing discussion on gun violence, gun rights, and gun regulations. Our mission is not confined to the debate on gun rights vs gun regulations, it is equally focused on understanding crime at a street level, providing crime statistics broken down to the Congressional District, State legislator district level."

NEW! National Library of Medicine, Public Health Resources tutorial

https://sis.nlm.nih.gov/outreach/phresources/index.html

Section I. Consumer Health
Section II. Disasters & Public Health Emergencies
Section III. Environmental Health & Toxicology
Section IV. Health Services Research
Section V. HIV/AIDS

NEW! Epistemonikos

  • "Epistemonikos is designed to allow researchers to search evidence-based medical literature using a structured patient or problem, intervention, comparison, outcome (PICO) question to facilitate clinical decision making. ... This resource was built to be a repository of all existing evidence related to a health question, allowing users to search for systematic reviews and related material, including but not limited to primary studies included in systematic reviews, overviews of reviews, evidence-based policy briefs and guidelines based on reviews, and structured summaries of evidence presented in reviews." (SOURCE: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5624441/)
  • Databases regularly searched by Epistemonikos: Cochrane, PubMed, EMBASE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, LILACS (Literatura Latinoamericana y del Caribe en Ciencias de la Salud), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Campbell Collaboration, JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports, EPPI-Centre Evidence Library

Annual Review of Public Health--Open Access Journal

Annual Review of Public Health, in publication since 1980, covers significant developments in the field of public health, including key developments and issues in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice and policy. Volume 38 (2017) is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) license, and previous volumes (1980-2016) are also free to read. Support for this initiative to increase openness and transparency in research is provided by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.