LibGuides: Public Health: Start Here

~75% of the time, what you need is in one of these places.

Connecting to the UT Virtual Private Network (VPN) while doing your research off campus provides a secure connection to the campus network, and makes accessing library resources significantly easier.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
View the tutorial "Tailoring Your PubMed Search Experience" (07:47)
View the FACT SHEET: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC--How are they different?
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status. Authenticating with UT EID will ensure the Findit@UT button is available in search results.

PrePubMed
PrePubMed indexes preprints from arXiv q-bio, PeerJ Preprints, bioRxiv, F1000Research, preprints.org, The Winnower, Nature Precedings, and Wellcome Open Research. Articles are not stored on PrePubMed, but you will be linked to the article at the respective site. Not affiliated with NCBI - PubMed. Only preprints, no peer-reviewed articles.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 25 users.
Updated regularly. Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbook and includes Board Vitals. Stat!Ref is now part of TDS Health.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Health Sciences Librarian

Lynn Bostwick

Email Me

Subjects: Health Sciences, Nursing, Nutrition and Food, Pharmacy, Public Health