COVID-19: global lessons learned
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology by
Learn all the microbiology and basic immunology concepts you need to know for your courses and exams. Now fully revised and updated, Mims' clinically relevant, systems-based approach and abundant colour illustrations make this complex subject easy to understand and remember. Learn about infections in the context of major body systems and understand why these are environments in which microbes can establish themselves, flourish, and give rise to pathologic changes. This systems-based approach to microbiology employs integrated and case-based teaching that places the 'bug parade' into a clinical context. Effectively review for problem-based courses with the help of chapter introductions and 'Lessons in Microbiology' text boxes that highlight the clinical relevance of the material, offer easy access to key concepts, and provide valuable review tools. Approach microbiology by body system or by pathogen through the accompanying electronic 'Pathogen Parade' - a quickly searchable, cross-referenced glossary of viruses, bacteria and fungi A new electronic 'Vaccine Parade' offers quick-reference coverage of the most commonly used vaccines in current clinical practice Deepen your understanding of epidemiology and the important role it plays in providing evidence-based identification of key risk factors for disease and targets for preventative medicine. Grasp and retain vital concepts easily, with a user-friendly colour coded format, succinct text, key concept boxes, and dynamic illustrations. New and enhanced information reflects the growing importance of the human microbiota and latest molecular approaches Access the complete contents on the go via the accompanying interactive eBook, with a range of bonus materials to enhance learning and retention - includes self-assessment materials and clinical cases to check your understanding and aid exam preparation.
Mims' Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease by
Mims' Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease is the landmark book in the field of infectious disease. The new, revised edition of this work provides a comprehensive, up-to-date description of the mechanisms of microbial infection and the pathogenesis of infectious disease. Presented in a clear, accessible style, it deals in an integrated manner with the spectrum of microorganisms, describing the factors common to all infectious diseases. Molecular biology, pathology, and immunology are brought together to explain the mechanisms for spread, immune response, and recovery.
Bacteria and Intracellularity by
Bacteria and Intracellularity clearly demonstrates that cellular microbiology as a field has reached maturity, extending beyond the strictly cellular level to infections of various organs and tissues. Decades of intense investigation into host-bacterial pathogen interactions have highlighted common concepts in intracellularity but also very diverse mechanisms underlying the various infections produced by bacteria. This book offers a wide-ranging look at the latest studies, including: foodborne pathogens, including how, when, and where bacteria interact with the gut and its microbiota infections of the urogenital tract, endothelial barriers, and the nervous system major advances in work with Mycobacterium tuberculosis and M. leprae subcellular microbiology, including metabolism of infected cells, nuclear biology, and microRNAs endosymbionts, in particular the latest work with Wolbachia and its effect on insect transmission of viral pathogens research into cell autonomous defense pathways that has led to major insights into immunology and innate immunity the latest developments in technology, for the next steps in the study of intracellularity All facets of cellular physiology, within the entire scope of cells and host tissues, can be targeted by pathogens. This book offers to researchers, students, and laboratorians a valuable overview of the state of current research into the cellular microbiology of host-pathogen interactions.
Bacterial Pathogenesis by
Discover the strategies bacterial pathogens use to survive and multiply. Focuses on core principles based on the growing understanding of the underlying similarities among pathogens and their mechanisms of action, and is a recommended text for one-semester microbiology courses. Presents the latest research to help students explore the mechanisms by which bacterial pathogens cause infections in humans and animals. Includes new coverage of key findings on the mechanisms of bacterial secretion, toxins, and regulation.
Bats and Human Health by
An important resource that reviews the various infectious diseases that affect bats and bat populations Bats and Human Health: Ebola, SARS, Rabies and Beyond covers existing literature on viral, bacterial, protozoan, and fungal infections of bats and how these infections affect bat populations. The book also offers an overview of the potential for zoonotic transmission of infectious diseases from bats to humans or domestic animals. While most prior publications on the subject have dealt only with bat viral infections, this text closely covers a wide range of bat infections, from viral and bacterial infections to protist and fungal infections. Chapters on viral infections cover rabies, filoviruses, henipaviruses, and other RNA viruses, as well as information on bat virome studies. The book then provides information on bacterial infections-including arthropod-borne and other bacteria that affect bats-before moving on to protist infections, including apicomplexans and kinetoplastids, and fungal infections, including white-nose syndrome, histoplasma capsulatum, and other fungi. Comprehensive in scope, yet another key feature of this book is a searchable database that includes bat species, bat family, bat diet, bat location, type and classification of infecting microbes, and categories of microbes. This vital resource also: Provides a history and comprehensive overview of bat-borne diseases Incorporates information from the World Health Organization, as well as historical data from the National Libraries of Health and infectious disease journals Covers a variety of diseases including viral infections, bacterial infections, protist infections, and fungal infections Written for microbiologist, bat researchers, and conservationists, Bats and Human Health provides a comprehensive exploration of the various types of microbes that affect bats and their potential to affect human populations.
Bats and Viruses by
Approximately 75% of emerging infectious diseases are zoonoses, and the rate of emergence of zoonotic diseases is on the rise. Bats are being increasingly recognised as an important reservoir of zoonotic viruses of different families, including SARS coronavirus, Nipah virus, Hendra virus and Ebola virus. Understanding bats' role in emerging zoonotic diseases is crucial to this rapidly expanding area of research. Bats and Viruses: A New Frontier of Emerging Infectious Diseases provides an updated overview of research focusing on bat biology and the role bats play as hosts of many major zoonotic viruses. The text covers bat biology, immunology, and genomics. Chapters also delve into the various major bat-borne virus families, including lyssaviruses, paramyxoviruses, coronaviruses, filoviruses and reoviruses, among others. Edited by leaders in the field, Bats and Viruses: A New Frontier of Emerging Infectious Diseases is a timely, invaluable reference for bat researchers studying microbiology, virology and immunology, as well as infectious disease workers and epidemiologists, among others.
Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine by
Using an easily accessible, highly templated format, Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine, 2nd Edition, provides more than 100 realistic scenarios for tropical infectious diseases. Full-color photographs and maps, a convenient question-and-answer presentation, and succinct summary boxes help you identify and understand the tropical diseases you're likely to encounter. This up-to-date 2nd Edition is an excellent resource and study tool for infectious diseases fellows, doctors preparing for exams in tropical medicine, primary care doctors with patients who are global travelers, and global health nurses and practitioners alike. Offers realistic scenarios for encountering patients in rural, resource-poor settings, presenting cases as "unknowns," just as in a real clinic or emergency situation. Covers newly emerging diseases such as Zika virus, severe fever with thrombocytopenia syndrome (SFTS), and knowlesi malaria. Features topics in migrant medicine of particular importance to clinicians in non-tropical countries, including louse-borne-relapsing fever, spinal brucellosis, and hyperreactive malarial splenomegaly. Includes "classic" tropical diseases such as African trypanosomiasis, chagas, leprosy, and yaws. Reflects the use of novel diagnostics used in resource-poor settings, as well as developing drug resistance in relevant cases. Serves as a companion to Manson's Tropical Diseases, with a reading list at the end of each case referring to the corresponding chapter in the larger text. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Trends and Concerns in Infectious Diseases by
A follow-up to Emerging Issues and Controversies in Infectious Diseases, this volume provides a comprehensive review of topical issues in infectious diseases, highlighting the controversies related to the newest findings and recommendations. Coverage includes trends and debates in HIV research, community-acquired pneumonia, H. pylori, progress in Hepatitis C treatment paired with the lack of progress on Hepatitis B, and the effects of climate change on infectious disease epidemiology, among others. This is an essential resource for practicing and academic physicians, investigators, residents, and fellows focused on infectious diseases, infection control, public health, and global health.
Emerging Infections 10 by
Essential resource for the fight against emerging infectious diseases Incidences such as the 2014 Ebola epidemic in West Africa and the 2015 appearance of Zika in Brazil provide dramatic evidence of the continued ability of microbes to emerge, spread, adapt, and threaten global health. The challenge facing infectious disease specialists and public health professionals is to improve and find new diagnostic, therapeutic, and prevention strategies. The editors of the 10th installment of the Emerging Infections series have compiled the perspectives of leading infectious disease experts into 22 chapters that provide important updates on a broad range of emerging and reemerging bacterial, viral, parasitic, and fungal infectious diseases in the United States and globally. In addition to focusing on MERS, Ebola virus disease, chikungunya, and Zika virus disease, Emerging Infections 10 explores the global threat of antimicrobial resistance in reviews on carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae, multiply-resistant gonococcal infections, non-typhoidal Salmonella infections, and artemisinin-resistant Plasmodium falciparum malaria. Topics include both recently- and long-recognized diseases that pose challenges for the clinical, laboratory, research, public health, and animal health communities. Emerging Infections 10 presents new and emerging strategies to prevent, control, and eradicate infectious diseases and guides readers to the primary literature where they can explore individual topics in greater depth. This book is a valuable reference for professionals in microbiology, epidemiology, public health, and clinical and veterinary medicine.
Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases by
The neglected tropical diseases (NTDs) are among the most common infections of the world's poorest people and have profound ramifications on affected populations, including physical, mental, social, and economic. This third edition of Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases coincides with the third decade of the NTDs movement, which has given access to essential NTD preventative treatments and medications to more than 1 billion people. Professor Peter Hotez, MD, PhD, one of the founders of the NTD movement, discusses how the NTD space evolved and control was implemented against these ancient scourges, through alliances between nongovernmental development organizations and private-public partnerships. Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases also Reports on the health and economic effects of the NTDs, and the challenges of measuring diseases that do not always kill, but adversely affect productivity, child development, pregnancy outcome, and economic development. Lays a roadmap for continued control of existing and newly identified NTDs and spotlights potential opportunities for reducing global poverty and "repairing the world." Describes a global initiative to provide annual mass drug administration for more than one billion people affected by NTDs. Highlights the role of innovation and product development partnerships for new treatments and vaccines. Explains how science and vaccine diplomacy ensure that a new generation of biotechnologies reaches the world's poorest people. Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases remains an essential resource for anyone seeking insight into global advocacy coordination and mobilization of resources to combat NTDs and continues to tell the story of the world's people who live in extreme poverty and what it means for them to live with these devastating diseases. "Like Dr. Hotez, I have struggled with how to best get the word out about our need to address NTDs and their link to poverty. Now he has provided us all with a remarkable tool, a book for people without an extensive scientific or medical background. Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases is an excellent 'one-stop' primer about NTDs."--Soledad O'Brien, Host, Matter of Fact with Soledad O'Brien
Foundations of Infectious Disease: a Public Health Perspective Packagedq with Companion Website Access Code by
New bonus chapter covering COVID-19 will be added to the eBook for Fall 2020 classes.Designed to introduce senior undergraduates and graduate students in public health and nursing to the study of infectious disease, Foundations of Infectious Disease: A Public Health Perspective places the study of infectious diseases squarely into its social, historical, and scientific context to demonstrate how it applies to the public and community health setting.Beginning with an introductory chapter that surveys how infectious diseases have impacted human societies over the centuries, this broad descriptive text moves on to examine epidemiological concepts related to infectious disease, from outbreak and epidemic investigations, to study design infectious disease transmission and prevention. It then delves into the infectious disease topics of concern to today's public and community health professionals: sexually transmitted infections, foodborne infections, healthcare-acquired infections, and neglected tropical diseases. A final chapter looks at future trends in the field of infectious diseases.Key Features:- Each chapter provides discussions of the biology, transmission, clinical aspects, epidemiology, and prevention of specific diseases- Numerous text boxes, tables, full-color illustrations and real-world case studies of infectious disease investigations help clarify concepts and engage students.- Highlights of national and global research related to specific pathogens and the infectious diseases they cause are included in each chapter along with links to extensive references.- Learning objectives, key terms, and review questions provide guidance and reinforcement of concepts presented.- New bonus chapter - COVID-19: A Global Pandemic - now included in the eBook.
Gram-Positive Pathogens by
Gram-positive bacteria, lacking an outer membrane and related secretory systems and having a thick peptidoglycan, have developed novel approaches to pathogenesis by acquiring (among others) a unique family of surface proteins, toxins, enzymes, and prophages. For the new edition, the editors have enhanced this fully researched compendium of Gram-positive bacterial pathogens by including new data generated using genomic sequencing as well as the latest knowledge on Gram-positive structure and mechanisms of antibiotic resistance and theories on the mechanisms of Gram-positive bacterial pathogenicity. This edition emphasizes streptococci, staphylococci, listeria, and spore-forming pathogens, with chapters written by many of the leading researchers in these areas. The chapters systematically dissect these organisms biologically, genetically, and immunologically, in an attempt to understand the strategies used by these bacteria to cause human disease. "This textbook comprises a superb collection of scientific knowledge making it a must-read for any graduate student, medical doctor, or investigator studying these gram-positive bacteria and inspiring future imaginations of biological knowledge." - William R. Jacobs, Jr., PhD, Professor Microbiology & Immunology, Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Graphic Guide to Infectious Disease by
A unique mash-up of medical education and comic book-style illustration, Graphic Guide to Infectious Diseases uses memorable art and humorous text to provide a seriously effective way to enhance your knowledge of complex medical conditions and diseases. Emergency medicine physician Dr. Brian Kloss and illustrator Travis Bruce use pop culture references, nostalgia, and unconventional humor to bridge the gap between challenging microbiology content and clinical knowledge of infectious diseases. Offers an innovative, concise, and fun way to learn about diseases, their signs and symptoms, and how to treat them - perfect for the busy medical student. Improves understanding and retention of complex information by using high-quality graphic illustrations mixed with solid educational content - ensuring a high-interest, high-yield resource with a large dose of humor and an innovative writing style. Uses visual learning to boost memorization, long-term retention, and exam performance. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
How to Prevent the Next Pandemic by
From the author of the #1 New York Times best seller How to Avoid a Climate Disaster: The COVID-19 pandemic isn't over, but even as governments around the world strive to put it behind us, they're also starting to talk about what happens next. How can we prevent a new pandemic from killing millions of people and devastating the global economy? Can we even hope to accomplish this? Bill Gates believes the answer is yes, and in this book he lays out clearly and convincingly what the world should have learned from COVID-19 and what all of us can do to ward off another disaster like it. Relying on the shared knowledge of the world's foremost experts and on his own experience of combating fatal diseases through the Gates Foundation, he first helps us understand the science of infectious diseases. Then he shows us how the nations of the world, working in conjunction with one another and with the private sector, can not only ward off another COVID-like catastrophe but also eliminate all respiratory diseases, including the flu. Here is a clarion call--strong, comprehensive, and of the gravest importance--from one of our greatest and most effective thinkers and activists.
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Disease by
New emerging diseases, new diagnostic modalities for resource-poor settings, new vaccine schedules . all significant, recent developments in the fast-changing field of tropical medicine. Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases, 10th Edition, keeps you up to date with everything from infectious diseases and environmental issues through poisoning and toxicology, animal injuries, and nutritional and micronutrient deficiencies that result from traveling to tropical or subtropical regions. This comprehensive resource provides authoritative clinical guidance, useful statistics, and chapters covering organs, skills, and services, as well as traditional pathogen-based content. You'll get a full understanding of how to recognize and treat these unique health issues, no matter how widespread or difficult to control. Includes important updates on malaria, leishmaniasis, tuberculosis and HIV, as well as coverage of Ebola, Zika virus, Chikungunya, and other emerging pathogens. Provides new vaccine schedules and information on implementation. Features five all-new chapters: Neglected Tropical Diseases: Public Health Control Programs and Mass Drug Administration; Health System and Health Care Delivery; Zika; Medical Entomology; and Vector Control - as well as 250 new images throughout. Presents the common characteristics and methods of transmission for each tropical disease, as well as the applicable diagnosis, treatment, control, and disease prevention techniques. Contains skills-based chapters such as dentistry, neonatal pediatrics and ICMI, and surgery in the tropics, and service-based chapters such as transfusion in resource-poor settings, microbiology, and imaging. Discusses maladies such as delusional parasitosis that are often seen in returning travelers, including those making international adoptions, transplant patients, medical tourists, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Infections of Leisure by
A day at the beach: delightful, restorative - and potentially dangerous. Leisure activities, from the mundane to the exotic, expose us to a growing list of pathogenic microbes, some new and many increasingly resistant to current therapies. Common pets, livestock, traveling, and cuisine all have the potential to cause illnesses that may be difficult to diagnose and treat. Engagingly written by a team of infectious disease specialists and edited by David Schlossberg, Infections of Leisure features 19 chapters focused on the infection risks associated with particular types of activities, including camping, playing sports, interacting with animals, receiving body modifications, and mountain climbing. This new edition includes vibrant, full-color images, recommended readings chosen by expert authors, and practical tips in each chapter. Useful for health care professionals, microbiologists, and infectious diseases specialists, the information in Infections of Leisure will support confident identification of leisure-associated infections and enable informed choices, as well as provide an understanding of the risks posed to human health by hobbies, exotic foods and travel.
Infectious Disease Surveillance by
This fully updated edition of Infectious Disease Surveillance is for frontline public health practitioners, epidemiologists, and clinical microbiologists who are engaged in communicable disease control. It is also a foundational text for trainees in public health, applied epidemiology, postgraduate medicine and nursing programs. The second edition portrays both the conceptual framework and practical aspects of infectious disease surveillance. It is a comprehensive resource designed to improve the tracking of infectious diseases and to serve as a starting point in the development of new surveillance systems. Infectious Disease Surveillance includes over 45 chapters from over 100 contributors, and topics organized into six sections based on major themes. Section One highlights the critical role surveillance plays in public health and it provides an overview of the current International Health Regulations (2005) in addition to successes and challenges in infectious disease eradication. Section Two describes surveillance systems based on logical program areas such as foodborne illnesses, vector-borne diseases, sexually transmitted diseases, viral hepatitis healthcare and transplantation associated infections. Attention is devoted to programs for monitoring unexplained deaths, agents of bioterrorism, mass gatherings, and disease associated with international travel. Sections Three and Four explore the uses of the Internet and wireless technologies to advance infectious disease surveillance in various settings with emphasis on best practices based on deployed systems. They also address molecular laboratory methods, and statistical and geospatial analysis, and evaluation of systems for early epidemic detection. Sections Five and Six discuss legal and ethical considerations, communication strategies and applied epidemiology-training programs. The rest of the chapters offer public-private partnerships, as well lessons from the 2009-2010 H1N1 influenza pandemic and future directions for infectious disease surveillance.
Inside the Hot Zone by
2021 William E. Colby Award Finalist Inside the Hot Zone is an insider's account of one of the most dangerous workplaces on earth: the United States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases (USAMRIID) in Fort Detrick, Maryland. Retired U.S. Army Col. Mark G. Kortepeter, a leading biodefense expert, recounts his journey from the lecture hall to the role of department chief, to the battlefield, to the Biosafety Level-4 maximum containment lab, and finally, to the corner office. During Kortepeter's seven and a half years in leadership at USAMRIID, the United States experienced some of the most serious threats in modern germ warfare, including the specter of biological weapons during the Iraq War, the anthrax letters sent after 9/11, and a little-known crisis involving a presumed botulism attack on the president of the United States. Inside the Hot Zone is a shocking, frightening eye-opener as Kortepeter describes in gripping detail how he and his USAMRIID colleagues navigated threats related to anthrax, botulism, smallpox, Lassa, and Ebola. Kortepeter crafts a rich and riveting narrative as he wrestles with life-and-death decisions managing biological weapon exposures. The stories are real, but they could just as easily serve as plotlines in popular fiction or Hollywood thrillers. He gives the reader a seat at the table as each crisis unfolds, with an unvarnished and personal perspective on the dangers, the drama, the fear, the frustrations, the irony, and the uncertainty he encountered as a physician in the role of "Biodefender.
Jawetz Melnick and Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness. Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review: * 640+ USMLE-style review questions * 350+ illustrations * 140+ tables * 22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills * An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms * Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies * Full-color images and micrographs * Chapter-ending summaries * Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, Twenty-Eighth Edition effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective.
Mandell, Douglas and Bennett's Infectious Disease Essentials by
Brought to you by the expert editor team from Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, this brand-new handbook provides a digestible summary of the 245 chapters contained within the parent text. Boasting an exceptionally templated design with abundant tables and illustrations, it distills the essential, up-to-date, practical information available in infectious disease and organizes it by Body System. This high-yield manual-style reference will prove useful for everyone from primary care doctors, emergency physicians, and nurses, to global health care workers, students, and pharmacists alike. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Provides a digestible summary of the 241 disease-oriented chapters contained within Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, 8th Edition (ISBN: 978-1-4557-4801-3). Covers hot topics in infectious disease, such as Hepatitis B and C, Influenza, Measles, Papillomavirus, HIV, MERS, and C. difficile. Templated design includes relevant tables and illustrations. Ideal for the non-infectious disease specialist, including primary care physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, students, residents, pharmacists, emergency physicians, and urgent care physicians.
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases by
For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Microbial Biofilms by
An examination of the research and translational application to prevent and treat biofilm-associated diseases In the decade since the first edition of Microbial Biofilms was published, the interest in this field has expanded, spurring breakthrough research that has advanced the treatment of biofilm-associated diseases. This second edition takes the reader on an exciting, extensive review of bacterial and fungal biofilms, ranging from basic molecular interactions to innovative therapies, with particular emphasis on the division of labor in biofilms, new approaches to combat the threat of microbial biofilms, and how biofilms evade the host defense. Chapters written by established investigators cover recent findings, and contributions from investigators new to the field provide unique and fresh insights. Specifically, Microbial Biofilms provides state-of-the-art research in the field of bacterial and fungal biofilms detailed descriptions of the in vitro and in vivo models available to evaluate microbial biofilms future areas of research and their translational and clinical applications Microbial Biofilms is a useful reference for researchers and clinicians. It will also provide insight in the dynamic field of microbial biofilms for graduate and postgraduate students.
Microbial Threats to Health by
Infectious diseases are a global hazard that puts every nation and every person at risk. The recent SARS outbreak is a prime example. Knowing neither geographic nor political borders, often arriving silently and lethally, microbial pathogens constitute a grave threat to the health of humans. Indeed, a majority of countries recently identified the spread of infectious disease as the greatest global problem they confront. Throughout history, humans have struggled to control both the causes and consequences of infectious diseases and we will continue to do so into the foreseeable future. Following up on a high-profile 1992 report from the Institute of Medicine, Microbial Threats to Health examines the current state of knowledge and policy pertaining to emerging and re-emerging infectious diseases from around the globe. It examines the spectrum of microbial threats, factors in disease emergence, and the ultimate capacity of the United States to meet the challenges posed by microbial threats to human health. From the impact of war or technology on disease emergence to the development of enhanced disease surveillance and vaccine strategies, Microbial Threats to Health contains valuable information for researchers, students, health care providers, policymakers, public health officials. and the interested public.
Netter's Infectious Diseases by
Widely used by students, residents, generalists, and specialists, Netter's Infectious Diseases, 2nd Edition delivers must-know information on infectious diseases in a highly illustrated, easily accessible format. Concise visual overviews of essential topics provide a convenient, trustworthy way to review the basics of a given infectious disease or issue or to share with patients or staff. Drs. Elaine Jong and Dennis Stevens cover the basics of this complex field using memorable illustrations by world-renowned artist Frank H. Netter and others, offering a time-saving, authoritative look at infectious diseases life cycles, clinical presentations, and pathophysiology. Covers major conditions and problems such as vaccine-preventable diseases, drug-resistant staph, community acquired pneumonia, surgical infections, pyelonephritis, viral hepatitis, and sexually transmitted infections-and provides updated approaches to diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and standards of care. Includes new clinical vignettes added to most chapters. Provides updated and expanded coverage of emerging infectious diseases such as multidrug resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB), neuroangiostrongyliasis (rat lungworm disease), Ebola virus, Severe Acute Respiratory Disease (SARS), Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS), Coronavirus Infectious Disease-2019 (COVID-19), and novel influenza viruses including public health concerns. Covers vector-borne diseases including malaria, yellow fever, Zika infections and congenital Zika syndrome, West Nile fever, Lyme disease, tick-borne encephalitis, and Chagas disease plus others. New chapters on travelers' diarrhea, cholera, and primary amebic meningoencephalitis debut in the section on international travel and outdoor activities. Contains memorable parasite life cycles and unforgettable parasite infection clinical vignettes. Features unparalleled illustrations by Drs. Frank H. Netter, Carlos Machado, and others, as well as radiologic images. Provides 24 printable patient education brochures in the enhanced ebook. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
New Microbiology: from microbiomes to CRISPR by
Microbiology has undergone radical changes over the past few decades, ushering in an exciting new era in science. In The New Microbiology, Pascale Cossart tells a splendid story about the revolution in microbiology, especially in bacteriology. This story has wide-ranging implications for human health and medicine, agriculture, environmental science, and our understanding of evolution. The revolution results from the powerful tools of molecular and cellular biology, genomics, and bioinformatics, which have yielded amazing discoveries, from entire genome sequences to video of bacteria invading host cells. This book is for both scientists and especially nonscientists who would like to learn more about the extraordinary world of bacteria. Dr. Cossart's overview of the field of microbiology research, from infectious disease history to the ongoing scientific revolution resulting from CRISPR technologies, is presented in four parts. New concepts in microbiology introduces the world of bacteria and some recent discoveries about how they live, such as the role of regulatory RNAs including riboswitches, the CRISPR defense system, and resistance to antibiotics. Sociomicrobiology: the social lives of bacteria helps us see the new paradigm by which scientists view bacteria as highly social creatures that communicate in many ways, for example in the assemblies that reside in our intestine or in the environment. The biology of infections reviews some of history's worst epidemics and describes current and emerging infectious diseases, the organisms that cause them, and how they produce an infection. Bacteria as tools introduces us to molecules derived from microbes that scientists have harnessed in the service of research and medicine, including the CRISPR/Cas9 genome-editing technology. The New Microbiology takes us on a journey through a remarkable revolution in science that is occurring here and now.
One Health by
Emerging infectious diseases are often due to environmental disruption, which exposes microbes to a different niche that selects for new virulence traits and facilitates transmission between animals and humans. Thus, health of humans also depends upon health of animals and the environment - a concept called One Health. This book presents core concepts, compelling evidence, successful applications, and remaining challenges of One Health approaches to thwarting the threat of emerging infectious disease. Written by scientists working in the field, this book will provide a series of "stories" about how disruption of the environment and transmission from animal hosts is responsible for emerging human and animal diseases. Explains the concept of One Health and the history of the One Health paradigm shift. Traces the emergence of devastating new diseases in both animals and humans. Presents case histories of notable, new zoonoses, including West Nile virus, hantavirus, Lyme disease, SARS, and salmonella. Links several epidemic zoonoses with the environmental factors that promote them. Offers insight into the mechanisms of microbial evolution toward pathogenicity. Discusses the many causes behind the emergence of antibiotic resistance. Presents new technologies and approaches for public health disease surveillance. Offers political and bureaucratic strategies for promoting the global acceptance of One Health.
Outbreak by
Integrates headline-making disease outbreaks into microbiology coursework to provide critical content to college-age students.* Presents case studies covering a wide variety of subject areas, including general, medical, environmental, and industrial microbiology.* Integrates current outbreaks that are featured in news headlines into the classroom for added relevance.* Features a discovery-oriented answer key that directs students to appropriate reference material rather than providing complete answers to the study questions.* Introduces students to the relevance of diverse social, economic, political, and religious issues that exist in various parts of the world.* Provides case studies of varying levels of difficulty.* Presents complete information about each disease and microbe covered.
Pandemics: What Everyone Needs to Know by
From HIV to H1N1, pandemics pose one of the greatest threats to global health in the twenty-first century. Defined as epidemics of infectious disease across large geographic areas, pandemics can disseminate globally with incredible speed as humans and goods move faster than ever before. Whilevaccines, drugs, quarantine, and education can reduce the severity of many outbreaks, factors such as global warming, population density, and antibiotic resistance have complicated our ability to fight disease. Respiratory infections like influenza and SARS spread quickly as a consequence of modern,mass air travel, while unsafe health practices promote the spread of viruses like HIV/AIDS and hepatitis C.In Pandemics: What Everyone Needs to Know, Nobel Prize-winning immunologist Peter C. Doherty addresses the history of pandemics and explores the ones that persist today. He considers what promotes global spread, the types of pathogens most present today and the level of threat they pose, and how tocombat outbreaks and mitigate their effects.Concise and informative, Pandemics will serve as the best compact consideration of this topic, written by a major authority in the field.
Power of Plagues by
The Power of Plagues offers a fascinating examination of epidemic diseases within a historical context. Engagingly written, this new volume presents the science of plagues in an understandable and accessible manner, describing the nature and evolution of diseases and conveying their significance in shaping Western culture and civilization.Chapters present individual, independent plague stories complemented by relevant and historical illustrations. Major historic outbreaks are covered, including those of the Greek and Roman empires as well as the infamous Black Death. Contemporary and emerging diseases are comprehensively detailed, including HIV-AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, smallpox, SARS, West Nile virus infection, influenza, mad cow disease, and several others.Despite advancements in the development of antimicrobials and vaccines and in securing clear water and food supplies, modern civilizations are not immune to epidemic diseases. The Power of Plagues provides insight into the struggle to attain disease control and eradication and explores the challenge of forecasting emerging plagues. In doing so, it offers readers a deeper understanding of modern public health issues and the role of infectious diseases.
Prescott's Microbiology by
The author team of Prescott’s Microbiology continues the tradition of past editions by providing a balanced, comprehensive introduction to all major areas of microbiology. This balance makes Microbiology appropriate for microbiology majors and mixed majors courses. The authors have introduced a number of pedagogical elements designed to facilitate student learning. They also remain focused on readability, artwork, and the integration of several key themes (including evolution, ecology and diversity) throughout the text, making an already superior text even better.
Public Health Entomology by
In the struggle against vector-borne diseases, it is critical that we bridge the gap among vector control workers on the ground (practitioners), public health planners and administrators, and (academic) medical entomologists. This second edition of Public Health Entomology is designed to fit certificate courses in public health entomology offered by universities and U.S. Centers of Excellence. It comprehensively examines vector-borne disease prevention, surveillance, and control from a governmental and public health perspective with worldwide application. Divided into two sections, the book begins with a historical account of the early beginnings of pest control and public health. Next, it outlines the concepts, design, and implementation of a sound public health entomology program, including issues associated with pesticide use, FEMA and other disaster response entities, and an adverse, chemophobic public. The second section provides an overview of some of the most common public health pests that are found globally. Copious photos and line drawings accentuate the text, along with text boxes and sidebars. The new edition addresses "IPM and Alternative Control Methods" in each section, expands the Lyme disease section, and includes other new and emerging tick-borne diseases (TBD). It provides enhanced discussion of working with local political figures and jurisdictions, as well as partnerships with academia, and is generally more worldwide in scope. Author Jerome Goddard designed and implemented the vector control program along the Mississippi Gulf Coast after Hurricane Katrina. His ability to communicate his knowledge and experience to public health students, professionals, and the general public make this book an essential resource for preventing disease from these vector-borne threats.
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Seventeenth Edition by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, as well as a new chapter on COVID-19. Outstanding Tools for USMLE Studying Facilitates any study objective or learning style Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework 654 USMLE-style practice questions test your knowledge Complete USMLE-style practice exam Pearls cover the basic science necessary for passing the USMLE 50 clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis Concise summaries of medically important organisms Color images depict clinically important findings, such as infectious disease lesions Color micrographs of stained microorganisms Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers New chapter on COVID-19 with images
Sherris Medical Microbiology, Seventh Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For more than a quarter-of-a-century, no other text has explained the link between microbiology and human disease states better than Sherris Medical Microbiology, Seventh Edition. Through a vibrant, engaging approach, this classic gives readers a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Part I of Sherris Medical Microbiology opens with a non-technical chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infection agents. The following four chapters provide more detail about the immune response to infection and the prevention, epidemiology, and diagnosis of infectious disease. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases. Each of these sections opens with chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. No other text clarifies the link between microbiology and human disease states like Sherris. * 57 chapters that simply and clearly describe the strains of viruses, bacteria, fungi, and parasites that can bring about infectious diseases * Explanations of host-parasite relationship, dynamics of infection, and host response * A clinical cases with USMLE-style questions concludes each chapter on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases * All tables, photographs, and illustrations are in full color * Clinical Capsules cover the essence of the disease(s) caused by major pathogens * Margin Notes highlight key points within a paragraph to facilitate review * In addition to the chapter-ending case questions, a collection of 100 practice questions is also included
Taxonomic Guide to Infectious Diseases by
Taxonomic Guide to Infectious Diseases: Understanding the Biologic Classes of Pathogenic Organisms, Second Edition tackles the complexity of clinical microbiology by assigning every infectious organism to one of 40+ taxonomic classes and providing a description of the defining traits that apply to all the organisms within each class. This edition is an updated, revised and greatly expanded guide to the classes of organisms that infect humans. This book will provide students and clinicians alike with a simplified way to understand the complex fields of clinical microbiology and parasitology.
Tuberculosis and Nontuberculous Mycobacterial Infections by
TUBERCULOSIS AND NONTUBERCULOUS MYCOBACTERIAL INFECTIONS TUBERCULOSIS AND NONTUBERCULOUS MYCOBACTERIAL INFECTIONS SEVENTH EDITION Complete coverage of every aspect of tuberculosis and related mycobacterial infections "Tuberculosis appears to be as old as humanity itself." Despite many advancements since the 1882 identification of Mycobacterium tuberculosis as the causative agent of tuberculosis, it remains one of the top 10 causes of death worldwide and threatens the effectiveness of our therapeutic arsenal. In 2015, 1.8 million people died of tuberculosis and almost half a million new cases of multidrug-resistant tuberculosis were diagnosed. For Tuberculosis and Nontuberculous Mycobacterial Infections, Dr. Schlossberg assembled an international team of experts to write about nearly every facet of the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of tuberculosis and nontuberculous mycobacterial infections. In addition to presenting the latest clinical data, epidemiological findings, and policy and strategy recommendations of the World Health Organization, four new chapters cover topics of critical importance: The role of therapeutic drug monitoring in mycobacterial infections The public health issues of refugees and migrants, and their exposure and transmission of tuberculosis resulting from humanitarian crises Diabetes mellitus as a significant risk factor for tuberculosis The increased risk of tuberculosis reactivation in people taking tumor necrosis factor alpha inhibitors and other biopharmaceuticals Other chapters provide detailed information on the clinical, public health, and policy aspects of tracking and treating tuberculosis, including: The many presentations of tuberculosis, from pulmonary to ocular and cardiovascular to urogenital The complications that tuberculosis and antituberculosis therapy cause to the hematologic and endocrine systems Tuberculosis during pregnancy and in infants and children Treatment of multidrug-resistant tuberculosis and extensively drug-resistant tuberculosis Development of new vaccines Nontuberculous infections caused by mycobacteria found throughout our environment The seventh edition of Tuberculosis and Nontuberculous Mycobacterial Infections is an essential resource for anyone working to prevent and treat tuberculosis and associated infections, from infectious disease specialists and pulmonologists to scientists, policymakers, and epidemiologists. A truly modern book that offers students, practitioners, and all readers the chance for a full immersion into the science of tuberculosis." --MARIO RAVIGLIONE, MD, Global TB Programme, World Health Organization "It's difficult to improve on an already excellent book but Dr. Schlossberg and colleagues have done it again!" --BURKE A. CUNHA, MD, MACP, Infectious Disease Division, Winthrop-University Hospital "This comprehensive book remains the most popular reference among physicians treating tuberculosis." --LEONID HEIFETS, MD, National Jewish Hospital (from a previous edition) "This book meets a demand for timely information...constitutes a ready and useful reference for general internists and primary care physicians." --ANNALS OF INTERNAL MEDICINE (from a previous edition)
Tuberculosis and the Tubercle Bacillus by
Can today's innovative practices and molecular tools tame this ancient disease? One third of the world's population is infected with tuberculosis (TB), with about 10 million new cases annually. To combat TB and its agent, Mycobacterium tuberculosis, the World Health Organization launched The End TB Strategy, which aims to slash the suffering and cost of TB by 2035. This makes the second edition of Tuberculosis and the Tubercle Bacillus, edited by Jacobs, McShane, Mizrahi, and Orme, an extremely valuable resource for scientists and clinicians. The editors have gathered their colleagues from around the world to present the latest on the molecular biology of M. tuberculosis and related species, the host-pathogen interactions that enable invasion, and the host's immune response to M. tuberculosis infection. The basic, clinical, and translational research presented in this book supports the goals of WHO's End TB Strategy by driving toward the development of effective vaccines, rapid molecular diagnostics, and anti-TB drugs. Creating an effective tuberculosis vaccine. Understand the innate and adaptive immune response to M. tuberculosis infection, its study in established animal models, and how this information is being used to develop new vaccines against TB. Formulating new antituberculosis drugs. Learn the challenges and methods for evaluating new drugs in preclinical trials with a focus on drugs that work against "persisters" and those that act on the electron transport complex and ATP synthase of M. tuberculosis. Overcoming the challenges of diagnosing tuberculosis. Review new diagnostic tools that are simple, rapid, affordable, specific, sensitive, and safe, including molecular-based diagnostic methods such as GeneXpert MTB/RIF. Using molecular, genomic, and bioinformatics tools to understand the biology and evolution of Mycobacterium. Explore current research on the molecular mechanisms that M. tuberculosis uses to evade the immune system, enter a state of nonreplicating persistence, and become reactivated. The second edition of Tuberculosis and the Tubercle Bacillus presents the latest research on a microorganism that is exquisitely well adapted to its human host. This pathogen continues to confound scientists, clinicians, and public health specialists, who will all find much valuable information in this comprehensive set of reviews.
Twelve Diseases That Changed Our World by
Covers the history of twelve important diseases and addresses public health responses and societal upheavals. Chronicles the ways disease outbreaks shaped traditions and institutions of Western civilization. Explains the effects, causes, and outcomes from past epidemics. Describes a dozen diseases to show how disease control either was achieved or failed. Makes clear the interrelationship between diseases and history. Presents material in a compelling, clear, and jargon-free prose for a wide audience. Provides a picture of the best practices for dealing with disease outbreaks.
Urinary Tract Infections by
A comprehensive overview of clinically important infections of the urinary tract Urinary tract infections (UTIs) continue to rank among the most common infectious diseases of humans, despite remarkable progress in the ability to detect and treat them. Recurrent UTIs are a continuing problem and represent a clear threat as antibiotic-resistant organisms and infection-prone populations grow. Urinary Tract Infections: Molecular Pathogenesis and Clinical Management brings the scientific community up to date on the research related to these infections that has occurred in the nearly two decades since the first edition. The editors have assembled a team of leading experts to cover critical topics in these main areas: clinical aspects of urinary tract infections, including anatomy, diagnosis, and management, featuring chapters on the vaginal microbiome as well as asymptomatic bacteriuria, prostatitis, and urosepsis the origins and virulence mechanisms of the bacteria responsible for most UTIs, including uropathogenic Escherichia coli, Proteus mirabilis, and Klebsiella pneumoniae the host immune response to UTIs, the rise of antibiotic-resistant strains, and the future of therapeutics This essential reference serves as both a resource and a stimulus for future research endeavors for anyone with an interest in understanding these important infections, from the classroom to the laboratory and the clinic.
Vaccines by
This book is designed to provide easy-to-read and basic information about vaccines for those undertaking a vaccine course or for medical providers seeking to improve their skills. Written by expert medical educators in the areas of infectious diseases, medical microbiology, and pediatrics, this book begins by establishing the fundamentals of vaccines such as what constitutes a vaccine, how they are manufactured and composed, how they are tested for safety and efficacy, and how vaccine recommendations are developed and conveyed to health care providers and their patients. The book then explains the composition, safety profile, effectiveness, and current recommendations for use of every available vaccine, alphabetized by infection. The concluding section illuminates practical concerns every vaccinating clinician experiences, including vaccine confidence and hesitancy, misconceptions, and patient communication. Vaccines: A Clinical Overview and Practical Guide is an excellent learning tool for all students and providers administering vaccines to patients, including infectious disease specialists and other internal medicine subspecialists, pediatricians, geriatricians, as well as all other primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, physician's assistants, and nurses.
Virulence Mechanisms of Bacterial Pathogens by
Ground-breaking overview of an enduring topic Despite the use of antibiotics, bacterial diseases continue to be a critical issue in public health, and bacterial pathogenesis remains a tantalizing problem for research microbiologists. This new edition of Virulence Mechanisms of Bacterial Pathogens broadly covers the knowledge base surrounding this topic and presents recently unraveled bacterial virulence strategies and cutting-edge therapies. A team of editors, led by USDA scientist Indira Kudva, compiled perspectives from experts to explain the wide variety of mechanisms through which bacterial pathogens cause disease: the host interface, host cell enslavement, and bacterial communication, secretion, defenses, and persistence. A collection of reviews on targeted therapies rounds out the seven sections of this unique book. The new edition provides insights into some of the most recent advances in the area of bacterial pathogenesis, including how metabolism shapes the host-pathogen interface interactions across species and genera mechanisms of the secretion systems evasion, survival, and persistence mechanisms new therapies targeting various adaptive and virulence mechanisms of bacterial pathogens Written to promote discussion, extrapolation, exploration, and multidimensional thinking, Virulence Mechanisms of Bacterial Pathogens serves as a textbook for graduate courses on bacterial pathogenesis and a resource for specialists in bacterial pathogenicity, such as molecular biologists, physician scientists, infectious disease clinicians, dental scientists, veterinarians, molecular biologists, industry researchers, and technicians.
Viruses, Pandemics, and Immunity by
How viruses emerge to cause pandemics, how our immune system combats them, and how diagnostic tests, vaccines, and antiviral therapies work. Throughout history, humans have contended with pandemics. History is replete with references to plagues, pestilence, and contagion, but the devastation wrought by pandemics had been largely forgotten by the twenty-first century. Now, the enormous human and economic toll of the rapidly spreading COVID-19 disease offers a vivid reminder that infectious disease pandemics are one of the greatest existential threats to humanity. This book provides an accessible explanation of how viruses emerge to cause pandemics, how our immune system combats them, and how diagnostic tests, vaccines, and antiviral therapies work-- concepts that are a foundation for our public health policies.
Viruses, Plagues, and History by
The story of viruses and the story of humanity have been intertwined since the dawn of history. The first small cities formed not only the cradle of civilization, but the spawning ground for the earliest viral epidemics, the first opportunity for viruses to find a home in the human herd. Thisis a story of fear and ignorance, as everything from demons and the wrath of the gods to minority groups have been blamed for epidemics from smallpox to yellow fever to AIDS. It is a story of grief and heartbreak, as hundreds of thousands, sometimes millions, are wiped out in a single year. And itis a story of great bravery and sacrifice, as doctors and nurses put themselves in harm's way to combat yellow fever in Memphis and Ebola in Zaire, and as researchers risk their own lives to test theories of vaccines and the transmission of disease. Now, in Viruses, Plagues, and History, Michael B.A. Oldstone tells all these stories as he illuminates the history of the devastating diseases that have tormented humanity.Oldstone focuses his tale on a few of the most famous viruses humanity has battled, beginning with some we have effectively defeated, such as smallpox, polio, and measles. Nearly 300 million people were killed by smallpox in this century alone -- more than were killed in all the wars of thetwentieth century combined. The author presents a vivid account of the long campaign against the virus, the insightful work of Edward Jenner, who created the smallpox vaccine from cowpox virus in 1796, and the monumental efforts of D. A. Henderson and an army of W.H.O. health care workers to finallyeradicate smallpox. The smallpox virus remains the only organism that we have deliberately pushed to complete extinction in the wild.Oldstone then describes the fascinating viruses that have captured headlines in more recent years: Ebola and other hemorrhagic fevers, which literally turn their victims' organs to a bloody pulp; the Hantavirus outbreaks in the southwestern United States and elsewhere; mad cow disease, afrightening illness made worse by government mishandling and secrecy; and, of course, AIDS, often called "the plague of our time." And he tells us of the many scientists watching and waiting even now for the next great plague, monitoring influenza strains to see whether the deadly variant from 1918-- a viral strain that killed over 20 million people in 1918-1919, more than twice the military and civilian casualties of the First World War -- will make a comeback.Viruses have enormous power. They have wiped out cities, brought down dynasties, and helped destroy civilizations. But, as Michael Oldstone reveals, scientific research has given us the power to tame many of these viruses as well. Viruses, Plagues, and History shows us the panorama of humanity'slong-standing conflict with our unseen viral enemies, from our successes to our continuing struggles. Oldstone's book is a vivid history of a fascinating field, and a highly reliable dispatch from a worker on the frontiers of this ongoing campaign.
The War Within Us by
Infectious diseases are the leading cause of death worldwide. In The War Within Us, well-known author and infectious disease specialist Cedric Mims makes the intricacies of the immune system and infectious diseases less baffling for the general reader and answers the questions of how things work and why. The story is told in terms of the ancient conflict between the invader (the infectious disease) and the defender (the body's immune system) and the strategies and counter-strategies used by both sides, making it a book that is both informative and interesting to read. The War Within Us is an ideal introduction to the basics of immunity and infection for general readers and students. It also serves as a quick reference book for physicians, researchers, and other health workers.
Zika and Other Neglected and Emerging Flaviviruses by
Offering up-to-date coverage of familiar flaviviruses that are spreading into new regions or are causing increasingly severe disease, as well as viruses that are almost unknown in most developed nations, Zika and Other Neglected and Emerging Flaviviruses brings together information that allows for easy comparison of similarities and differences of this viral group in a single, convenient volume. Each chapter includes a brief Introduction, history, the diseases, the virus, the immune response, prevention or treatment, an extensive list of references, and a summary overview. The book concludes with a chapter tying together information about flaviviruses and other potential new microbial threats. Covers familiar flaviviruses that are spreading into new regions or are causing increasingly severe disease (such as Zika, dengue and West Nile viruses), as well as lesser-knowns viruses such as tick-borne encephalitis virus, Powassan virus, Omsk hemorrhagic fever, and Murray Valley encephalitis virus. Allows health-related personnel to search for potential treatments and protective responses by examining what measure did or did not work with other, related flaviviruses. Helps readers understand how to prevent or contain newly emerging viral threats?a particularly timely topic regarding the global spread of COVID-19 and the potential of tick-borne encephalitis to rapidly spread and cause severe illness, panic, and disruption of economies. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
Zoonoses by
Written by veterinarians, medical microbiologists, and physicians with broad experience in the field of infectious diseases. * Covers all aspects of epidemiology, diagnosis, and differential diagnosis, as well as therapy and prophylaxis of zoonotic diseases. * Examines the most advanced diagnostic techniques, including PCR and ELISA, for the detection of sporadic infections even with rare organisms.* Serves a valuable reference for professionals in medicine, veterinary medicine, public health, and diagnostic laboratories and is especially helpful for those who are not experts in the field.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.