LibGuides: Public Health: Health Statistics

Health Statistics

National Health Statistic Resources

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps | A Robert Wood Johnson Foundation program
- "Provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support community leaders working to improve health and increase health equity."
Health Data.gov | U.S. Department of Health and Human Resources
- "Data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others."
Healthy People 2030 | U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- "Healthy People provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives — and tools to help track progress toward achieving them."
Rural Health Information Hub | U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Find statistics and data on rural health.
MMWR | Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports from the CDC
The MMWR series is the CDC's primary publication outlet for public health information and recommendations for physicians, nurses, public health practitioners, epidemiologists, and other scientists.
National Center for Health Statistics | Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- "NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the U.S. population. We are a unique public resource for health information—and a critical element of public health and health policy."
BRFSS | Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System from the CDC
"collects state data about U.S. residents regarding their risk behaviors, chronic health conditions and use of preventative services." See survey data, fact sheets and more!
National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics | U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
See Quick Facts - "graphical statistics on a variety of topics related to Veterans." Find data and statistics on the veteran population, health, education, employment and much, much more!
America's Health Rankings United Health Foundation
America’s Health Rankings provides an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.
Open Data Portal | U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
"Open Data is an initiative that seeks to advance government transparency and promote innovation by making data accessible to the public."
OSHA Statistics & Data | Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Data concerning workplace safety and workplace injuries
State Health Facts | The Kaiser Family Foundation
- Health statistics for each state including health costs, health coverage, health reform, health status, Medicaid, Medicare, minority health, and women's health.
The University of Texas School of Public Health Library
- Maintains an excellent webpage that has links to sources of Texas, federal, international, and NGO statistics.
United States Census Bureau
- Various health statistics including disability, fertility, HIV/AIDS, and health insurance.

Texas-Specific General Health Statistics Resources

Center of Health Statistics | Texas Department of State Health Services
- "Contains statistics on vital events like birth and death, population and demographic information, geographic material and survey data on risk factors and disease prevalence."
Texas Health Data | Texas Department of State Health Services: Center for Health Statistics
- "This site contains public data and statistics on various health topics.The data are intended to help you plan and improve delivery of services, evaluate healthcare systems, inform policy decisions, and aid in research. Other uses or disclosures are not permitted."
Texas Health Care Information Collection | Texas Dept. of State Health Services: Center for Health Statistics
- "THCIC collects data and reports on health care activity in hospitals and health maintenance organizations operating in Texas."
State Health Facts Online: Texas | Kaiser Family Foundation
State reports on health costs & budgets, health insurance, health status, health disparities, health reform, HIV/AIDS, Medicaid & CHIP, Medicare, etc.

Austin-Specific General Health Statistics Resources

Austin's Open Data Portal
- "This portal provides easy access to open data and information about your city government. We encourage the use of public data that the City of Austin has published to spark innovation, promote public collaboration, increase government transparency, and inform decision making."
Austin Public Health Department
Contains the following:
- Austin Public Health Annual Report
- Austin Critical Health Indicators Report
Central Health. 2022 Demographic Report
This report provides real-time data along with 5-year projections of factors impacting the low-income residents of Travis County. These factors include housing, income, education, employment, transportation, family status, locations of healthcare, and 9 significant chronic conditions.
Central Health. Enrollment & Clinical Utilization Dashboard

International General Health Statistics Resources

Country Statistics | UNICEF
- "Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children’s well-being."
European Statistics | Eurostat
- Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union.
Global Health Policy | Kaiser Family Foundation
"KFF's global health policy work focuses on providing the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health to offer a comprehensive picture of the U.S. global health policy landscape, focusing on key issues facing policymakers, journalists, non-governmental organizations and others working in the global health arena."
Global Health Data Exchange | University of Washington
- "The Global Health Data Exchange is provided by the University of Washington's Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, and it is the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data."
ICPSR Data Archive
(Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) - a data archive for social and behavioral sciences. One of the thematic collections is "Health/Mental Health" which includes data sets for chronic health conditions, LGBT health, aging, etc.
OECD Health Statistics | Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
- "The OECD Health Database offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. It is an essential tool to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from international comparisons of diverse health systems."
Pan American Health Organization Data and Statistics
- "The specialized international health agency for the Americas. PAHO works with countries throughout the region to improve and protect people's health."
Statistics Canada
- "The agency ensures Canadians have the key information on Canada's economy, society and environment that they require to function effectively as citizens and decision makers."
United Nations Statistics Division
- "The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems."
UN Data
From the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) and provides access to 32 databases - 60 million records.
WHO Global Health Observatory Data
- "The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others."
WHO Global Health Observatory Repository
Browse data tables by topic.
World Bank Open Data
- Provides data on a range of health topics such as Ebola Response, HIV, nutrition, and maternal mortality.
World Bank: DataBank
"an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create queries, generate tables, chart and maps; and easily save, embed or share them." Readily available topics include Health, Nutrition and Population Statistics, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics and more!

National Cancer Statistics Resources

Cancer Facts and Statistics | American Cancer Society
- "Projects the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths expected each year in order to estimate the contemporary cancer burden, because cancer incidence and mortality data lag three to four years behind the current year. In addition, the regularly updated Facts & Figures publications present the most current trends in cancer occurrence and survival, as well as information on symptoms, prevention, early detection and treatment."
Cancer Statistics | National Cancer Institute
- Contains statistics such as how many people are diagnosed with and die from cancer each year, the number of people who are currently living after a cancer diagnosis, the average age at diagnosis, and the numbers of people who are still alive at a given time after diagnosis, and more.
Publications & Data | National Cancer Institute
Find data on cancer survivorship issues, cancer control programs, cancer-preventative behaviors and more!
SEER Data (Surveillance, Epidemiology, And End Results) | National Cancer Institute
- "SEER collects cancer incidence data from population-based cancer registries covering approximately 34.6 percent of the U.S. population. The SEER registries collect data on patient demographics, primary tumor site, tumor morphology, stage at diagnosis, and first course of treatment, and they follow up with patients for vital status."
State Cancer Profiles | National Cancer Institute
- "State Cancer Profiles characterizes the cancer burden in a standardized manner to motivate action, integrate surveillance into cancer control planning, characterize areas and demographic groups, and expose health disparities."
CDC. Cancer Statistics at a Glance
Cancer Rates
Cancer incidence and mortality data for select states.

Texas-Specific Cancer Statistic Resources

State Cancer Profile: Texas | National Cancer Institute
- "State Cancer Profiles characterizes the cancer burden in Texas in a standardized manner to motivate action, integrate surveillance into cancer control planning, characterize areas and demographic groups, and expose health disparities."
Texas Department of State Health Services: Texas Cancer Registry
Cancer Statistics, Interactive Tools, Maps, and Graphs, Statistical Tables and Statistical Reports

National Child/Adolescent Health Statistics Resources

Child Trends/Health
- "Child Trends researchers study the physical and mental health of children and adolescents. Our staff conduct literature reviews, provide training and technical assistance and analyze datasets pertaining to health and access to health care. Our research informs program providers and policymakers developing strategies for addressing the health needs of children."
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health | The Child & Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative
- "Provides rich data on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives—including physical and mental health, access to quality health care, and the child’s family, neighborhood, school, and social context."
Kids Count Data Center | Annie E. Casey Foundation
- Contains data on child and family well-being in the United States, including health metrics.

National Drug Use Health Statistics Resources

National Survey on Drug Use and Health (SAMHSA)
- "The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) provides up-to-date information on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use, mental health and other health-related issues in the United States."
SAMHSA Data | Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
- "Provides leadership and resources--programs, policies, information and data, funding, and personnel--advance mental and substance use disorder prevention, treatment, and recovery services in order to improve individual, community, and public health."
SAMHSA: Reports and Data Tables

Health Care and Quality of Care Statistics Resources

The Affordable Care Act | U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- Provides information related to the Affordable Care Act including the full text of the law, types of coverage, benefit limits, preventative care, and more.
AHRQ Data and Surveys | Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- AHRQ provides a range of data resources in online, searchable databases, including data infographics and state-specific health care quality information.
American Hospital Directory
- Free online version of the AHD provides key hospital characteristics, services provided, utilization statistics, and more.
CMS Research, Statistics, Data & Systems | Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
- A federal government website managed and paid for by the U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care | The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical Practice
- For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
HCUP Statistical Briefs | Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
- Provides healthcare statistics on hospital inpatient stays, emergency department visits, and ambulatory surgeries. Topics include medical conditions treated, procedures performed, patient populations served, and quality of care. Information is presented in tables and figures, accompanied by explanatory text.

Health Costs and Health Insurance Statistics

Fair Health
- A free resource that is dedicated to sharing healthcare prices and health insurance information. Its cost lookup tool allows you to estimate costs of medical and dental services in specific areas of the United States. The cost estimates are based on Fair Health's national database of healthcare claims.
guroo
- Guroo was created by the Health Care Cost Institute, and it gives data on health care costs and quality with national, state and local prices.
Healthcare Bluebook
- A commercial website that provides cost estimates for medical procedures, tests, and services to consumers, employers, and providers.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) | US Department of Health and Human Services: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- Provides data on "hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes."
Health Care Cost Institute
- Publishes the annual Health Care Cost Report and the National Chartbook of Health Care Prices, as well as other relevant reports.

International Health Costs & Health Insurance Statistics Resources

International Federation of Health Plans
- Puts out an annual Comparative Price Report which gives comparisons of various drugs, diagnostics, and procedures between several countries.

National Heart and Stroke Statistics Resources

Heart and Stroke Statistics | American Heart Association
- Compiles up-to-date statistics on heart disease, stroke and other vascular diseases via the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies.

National Mental Health Statistics Resources

Mental Health Information: Statistics | Nation Institute of Mental Health
- "The information on these pages includes currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability."
SAMHSA Data (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)
- "SAMHSA's Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ) coordinates an integrated data strategy, which includes collecting data each year on the national incidence and prevalence of various forms of mental illness and substance use. CBHSQ also provides statistical and analytical expertise."

Library Databases

Social Explorer
Health data covers the topics of quality of life, brithweight, healthcare provider demographics, healthcare provider rates per population, insured rates, mortality, diabetes, HIV prevalence, alcohol and tobacco usage, obesity, community resilience, health risk factors, etc.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Unlimited users.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in xls or pdf format.
Divided into broad sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices and many others, the database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, and other breakdowns.

Physician Workforce, Medical Student, and Resident Data

AAMC data and reports | Association of American Medical Colleges
- "AAMC regularly releases current, authenticated data on the most important topics in academic medicine."
ACGME Data Resource Book | Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
"collection of current and historical data related to the accreditation process"

Print Periodical

Hospital Statistics | American Hospital Association
- Published annually.

Statistics Guides

Where can I find health statistics? by the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Resource guide containing US Health Statistics Sources, International Health Statistics Sources, and Hospital and Health Facilities Statistics.
World Health Statistics (World Health Organization)
- Published annually.

Acknowledgement

The Health Statistics section was reorganized and updated, with new content created by UT iSchool graduate student Stormie Koerner, in Fall 2020 as part of her Capstone Project.