Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Zines

Home Page

Zines at the FAL

The Fine Arts Library started collecting zines in 2012. The zines in our collection represent a wide range of subcultures, viewpoints, hobbies, artistic practices, and activist movements. There is an emphasis on collection zines related to music, art and creative writing.  We also try to include the work of local and regional zinesters.

This collection continues to grow through selected purchases and the donations of individual zine collections. The Fine Arts Library recently acquired the zine collection of Russel Etchen, owner of former Austin bookstore DOMY. While the majority of our zines are available for check out, certain collections are kept separate in our special collections area. Please contact Fine Arts Library staff or Rebecca Pad, Art and Art History Liaison, about accessing these materials. 

A list of some of the zines available at the Fine Arts Library can be accessed here:

Russel Etchen Collection

This catalog list includes all of the zines in the Russel Etchen Collection. If you are interested in viewing any of this material, please contact Rebecca Pad or Fine Arts Library staff. 

Searching for Zines at UT

Try searching in the UT Library Catalog, in other libraries' catalogs, or in WorldCat, using the following keywords:

Alternative Press

Artist's Books

Fan Magazines

Fanzines

Little Magazines

Self-Publishing

Underground Press

Zines

Librarian

Rebecca Pad's picture
Rebecca Pad
Contact:
Fine Arts Library
DFA 3.214
512-495-4476

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.