HIS 320W: Thinking Like a Historian (del Castillo)

The library catalog is used to search for published books as well as rare books. After entering your search terms, use the facets on the left side of the page to limit the search based on publication year, repository location, or other aspects.

TARO is a database that stores archival finding aids for repositories across Texas, including the Benson Library. Archival finding aids describe the contents of an archival collection, which allows researchers to determine whether the collection may contain materials they would like to view.

The Benson Digital Collections Portal provides easy access to archival collections which are available online. The tab "Siglo 19" lists collections from the 19th century.

This collection contains largely visual material from the Genaro Garcia collection including maps, building plans, engravings, and other printed materials. The vast majority of these materials are from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

This finding aid includes a small number of the thousands of rare maps in the Benson Collection, with links to digital images of each map.

Digitized "penny press" newspapers from the late 19th and early 20th centuries aimed at working class Mexicans. Newspapers are often richly illustrated by the era's leading political cartoonists including José Guadalupe Posada.

Digitized microfilm of rare Mexican newspapers, most of which date from 1820-1920. Material is mostly text, but also contains advertisements, caricatures, and illustrations.

"Violetas del Anáhuac", initially named "Las Hijas del Anáhuac", was a weekly magazine directed and published by women in Mexico City from 1887-1889.

Broadsides and printed circulars acquired by Mexican bibliophile Genaro García relating primarily to the history, politics, and culture of Mexico from the 18th-20th centuries.

Digitized books from the Benson's Rare Book collection, including a handful of 19th century publications.

Papers of Lucas Alamán, Mexican statesman, political leader and historian, include documents pertaining to colonial administration and church history of Mexico in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, and nineteenth century correspondence and documents concerning Mexican government, political, and military affairs.

Papers of Ignacio Comonfort, Mexican Army general and President of Mexico, 1855-1858, include military and official documents, correspondence, and family records.

Correspondence, literary productions and other documents of José María Luis Mora, priest, lawyer, and Mexican statesman.