ANT 324W - Mapping Indigenous Texas

With more than 5,000 maps depicting all parts of the world, the collection emphasizes the Gulf Coast region and the greater Southwest. It includes maps dating from 1493 to the present and features noted cartographers.

The Yana and Marty Davis Map Collection began with an initial donation in 2004 of over 700 maps and atlases to the Museum of the Big Bend, focusing on Texas and its borders. The second donation in 2015 of over 400 maps and atlases included not only maps of Texas but also Oklahoma and the Indian Territory. The third donation, which is still in progress, concentrates on Mexico.

The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources.

The Texas General Land Office’s (GLO) map collection consists of over 45,000 maps, sketches, and drawings. The collection spans nearly five centuries, from the era of European exploration to the present day.

The Texas State Archives Map Collection contains original, photo-reproduced, and compiled maps covering the period from the early seventeenth through the late twentieth centuries.

The strength of the Briscoe Center’s cartographic resources is its Texas Cartography Collection, which is an in-depth collection of some 32,000 printed and manuscript maps depicting Texas from the era of the European encounter with the New World to the present.

The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 35 years ago and contains more than 200,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, wall maps, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from around 1550 to the present.

Land and environment are fundamental to American Indian culture and history, and also central to Indian / non-Indian relations. As the primary means of storing geographical knowledge and experience, as well as communicating locational and spatial information, maps are the links between landscape and history, and although often overlooked, they are potentially rich sources of primary historical information for Native American studies.