Indigenous Texas - ANT 324W - Mapping Indigenous Texas - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Resources

The Conquest of Texas: Ethnic Cleansing in the Promised Land 1820-1875 by Gary Clayton Anderson
Publication Date: 2019
Historic Native Peoples of Texas by William C. Foster
ISBN: 9780292717923
Publication Date: 2008
Indians of the Rio Grande Delta: Their Role in the History of Southern Texas, and Northeastern Mexico by Martín Salinas
Publication Date: 1990
Life among the Texas Indians: The WPA Narratives
Publication Date: 1998
Turning Adversity to Advantage: A History of the Lipan Apaches of Texas and Northern Mexico, 1700-1900 by Nancy McGown Minor
Publication Date: 2009

Bexar Archives: Colonial Archives of Texas during the Spanish and Mexican Periods, 1717-1836 This link opens in a new window
1717-1836. 300,000 pages of diplomatic, military, religious, and other manuscript and printed records of the Spanish colonial province of Texas from 1717-1821 and the Mexican District of Bexar from 1822-1836. Included with these documentations on the past of Spanish Texas are the interactions between the Spanish settlers and the indigenous peoples of Texas.
From 1717 through 1836 the governments of Spain and Mexico collected in San Antonio de Bexar (when that city was the capital of Texas under Spanish and Mexican rule) an amazing series of official documents detailing the military, civilian, and political life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. These records, which have become known as the Bexar Archives, constitute the most complete and detailed primary source in existence for the study of colonial Texas. The Archives, housed at the University of Texas at Austin, consist of 250,000 pages of manuscript documentation and more than 4,000 pages of printed material on colonial and regional history. The collection includes:

Bexar Archives: Publications and General Manuscript Series, 1717-1836
Bexar Archives: Translations [1699-1812]

Treaties made by the Republic of Texas are not included in the LexisNexis database; however, the text of several can be found on the web or in published form.

Bird's Fort Treaty, 1843

Treaty of Texas with the Lipan Indians

Treaty of Tehuacana Creek

Texas State Archives Map Collection - There are 15 maps between 1700 and 1875 depicting the regions of the Karankawa peoples. Several of these maps are available to view online.

Border Land: The Struggle for Texas, 1820-1879 - A project of The University of Texas at Arlington Center for Greater Southwestern Studies and UTA Libraries that seeks to map sites of conflict between Native Americans and Euro-Americans in Texas from the creation of the First Mexican Republic to the outbreak of the U.S.-Mexico War (1821-1846)

Karankawa Archive - Over 2,500 unique primary sources ranging from 1528 to 1967 that in involve the Karankawa peoples.

Texas State Library and Archives: Subject Guide to Native American Resources
The holdings, which range from the colonial era of Spanish rule during the eighteenth century through the years of the Republic and to the present day, depict the cultures and histories of those tribes which resided and still live in Texas

Organizations

American Indians in Texas at the Spanish Colonial Missions - The Mission of the American Indians in Texas at the Spanish Colonial Missions is to work for the preservation and protection of the culture and traditions of the Tap Pilam Coahuiltecan Nation and other indigenous people of the Spanish Colonial Missions in South Texas and Northern Mexico through: education, research, community outreach, economic development projects and legislative initiatives at the federal, state and local levels.

Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas - The Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas has the oldest reservation in the State located on approximately 10,200 acres in the Big Thicket of Deep East Texas. There are more than 1,200 members, about half of whom live on the reservation. The Tribe is ruled by both a Principal Chief and a Second Chief who are elected by the people and serve lifetime terms.

Esto'k Gna/Carrizo Comecrudo Tribe of Texas - The Carrizo/Comecrudo are the Hokam speaking people of the Texas/Mexico Rio Grand Delta and surrounding area. Also see their Instagram for regular updates.

Indigenous Cultures Institute - The Indigenous Cultures Institute was founded in 2006 by members of the Miakan/Garza Band, one of the over six-hundred bands that resided in Texas and northeastern Mexico when the Spaniards first arrived.

Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas - The Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas (KTTT), formerly known as the Texas Band of Traditional Kickapoo, is one of three federally recognized Tribes of Kickapoo people. The KTTT Reservation is located on the Rio Grande on the US-Mexico border in western Maverick County. Also, it’s just south of the city of Eagle Pass, as part of the community of Rosita Valley. The KTTT has a population of 960 enrolled members and was officially recognized by the Texas Indian Commission in 1977.

Lipan Apache Tribe of Texas - The Lipan Apache Tribe of Texas is the continuation of the historical Lipan Apache Tribe that has called the Southern Great Plains, Mapimi Basin in Northern Mexico, and the Gulf of Mexico coast home for many centuries.

Tāp Pīlam Coahuiltecan Nation - Tāp Pīlam Coahuiltecan Nation is a Tribal community of affiliated Bands and Clans of the Payaya, Pacoa, Borrado, Pakawan, Paguame, Papanac, Hierbipiame, Xarame, Pajalat, Tilijae nations, modernly known as Coahuiltecans. The traditional homeland consists by today’s political boundaries as Texas, Coahuila, Tamaulipas, Nuevo Leon, and Northern Potosi.

Ysleta Del Sur - Ysleta del Sur Pueblo (YDSP) is one of three federally recognized Native American tribes, and the only Pueblo, in the State of Texas. The current YDSP population is approximately 4,226 members nationwide. Thirteen miles from downtown El Paso, Ysleta, Texas has been home to the Tigua people for over 300 years.

Native American and Indigenous Studies @ UT

- The Native American and Indigenous Studies (NAIS) program at the University of Texas at Austin has a global, comparative focus with a particular strength in the Americas, offering an Undergraduate Certificate and a Graduate Portfolio. NAIS fosters and supports teaching and intellectual engagements around the languages, cultures, knowledges, histories, and current political struggles of indigenous peoples.

- Native American & Indigenous Collective (NAIC) is a student-led organization at UT Austin engaged with the principles of Native empowerment, transnational, and intertribal unity, scholarship, and community. NAIC strives to create a supportive space for Native American and Indigenous students and is open to any UT student invested in the aforementioned principles. Stay connected with the NAIC Instagram page here.

- Indigenous Student Peoples Association (NAIPA), a graduate student organization, is intended to visibilize scholarship and community work by Indigenous faculty, students and community organizers, and their allies, for and concerning Indigenous peoples, in order to facilitate dialogue, support, and action. Stay connected with the NAIPA Instagram page here.

Thank You and Credits

UTRGV: Karankawas Research Guide