LibGuides: Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences: Specialized Resources

Specialized Resources

Websites
Associations, Organizations, and Agencies

Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC)
Strategies to assist people with severe communication disabilities to participate more fully in their social roles including interpersonal interaction, learning, education, community activities, employment, volunteerism, care management, and so on.
Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE)
Includes the Database of International Research, the International Encyclopedia of Rehabilitation, and other resources on rehabilitation research with the goal of facilitating the sharing of rehabilitation research information internationally.
Hearing Health Foundation
The mission of Hearing Health Foundation is to prevent and cure hearing loss through ground breaking research.
Journal Rankings on Speech & Hearing
Shows impact factors
National Rehabilitation Information Center Knowledgebase
Searches resources on disability and rehabilitation ranging from organizations and agencies to periodicals and Web resources. Use to locate disability and rehabilitation organizations and agencies.
speechBITE
Database of evidence-based intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.
The Stuttering Foundation
Provides free online resources, services and support to those who stutter and their families, as well as support for research into the causes of stuttering.

Academy of Aphasia
The Academy of Aphasia is an organization made up of researchers who study the language problems of people who have neurological diseases. Some of these researchers also provide clinical services to help people improve their language skills following strokes or other illnesses. Although this web site is primarily for the service of members, we have provided a few links containing general information for people with aphasia.
Academy of Neurologic Communication Disorders and Sciences
Promotes quality service to persons with neurologic communication disorders by developing training guidelines for preparation of speech-language pathologists for clinical practice with this population, to develop standards for clinical practice of speech-language pathologists with this population, and to develop the standards and provide the means to certify clinical specialists in this area of practice.
Acoustical Society of America
Scientific society in acoustics, dedicated to increasing and diffusing the knowledge of acoustics and its practical applications.
American Academy of Audiology
Dedicated to providing quality hearing care services through professional development, education, research, and increased public awareness of hearing and balance disorders.
American Auditory Society
The primary aims of the American Auditory Society are to increase knowledge and understanding of the ear, hearing and balance; disorders of the ear, hearing, and balance, and preventions of these disorders; and habilitation and rehabilitation of individuals with hearing and balance dysfunction
The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA)
The American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA) is an international non-profit medical society of health care professionals who treat and/or perform research on oral cleft and craniofacial conditions.
American Laryngological Association
The ALA is a scholarly organization of physicians and scientists who have made significant contributions to the care of patients with disorders of the larynx and upper aerodigestive tract.
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for 186,000 members and affiliates who are audiologists; speech-language pathologists; speech, language, and hearing scientists; audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel; and students.
Dysphagia Research Society
Advancing the science of swallowing.
National Aphasia Association
The Mission of the National Aphasia Association is to promote public awareness and understanding of aphasia and provide support to all persons with aphasia and their caregivers.
The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
Established in 1988, NIDCD is mandated to conduct and support biomedical and behavioral research and research training in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language. The Institute also conducts and supports research and research training related to disease prevention and health promotion; addresses special biomedical and behavioral problems associated with people who have communication impairments or disorders; and supports efforts to create devices which substitute for lost and impaired sensory and communication function.
National Stuttering Association
The largest self-help support organization in the United States for people who stutter.
National Student Speech Language Hearing Association
The National Student Speech Language Hearing Association (NSSLHA) is the national student organization for pre-professionals studying communication sciences and disorders (CSD) recognized by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).
Neuroscience @ NIH
The NIH is home to one of the largest neuroscience research centers in the world. Over 150 laboratories, originating from eleven different Institutes, conduct research in the basic, translational, and clinical neurosciences.

Auditory Neuropathy

Auditory Neuropathy
An overview from the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders, including links to additional resources.
ASHA Auditory Neuropathy Spectrum Disorder Evidence Map
Resources providing scientific evidence, expert opinion, and client/caregiver perspective.

Autism

MedlinePlus: Autism Spectrum Disorder
Includes a basic description of ADS plus links to resources for symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and lifestyle practices.
ASHA: Autism (ASD)
Fact page from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.
National Institute of Mental Health: ASD
In addition to basic information about ASD, includes links to clinical trials and additional resources.
Autism Journals from UT Libraries
A list of journals from the UT Library catalog with "autism" in the title.

Craniofacial Disorders

MedlinePlus: Craniofacial Abnormalities
Includes a basic description of craniofacial abnormalities plus links to resources for different types of conditions and a large amount of genetic information.
CCA: Syndromes
A list of craniofacial disorders and corresponding information from the Children's Craniofacial Association.

Dysphagia

Dysphagia Grand Rounds
A curated list of dysphagia resources.
Adult Dysphagia
A topic page from AHSA, which includes an overview of the condition and links to additional resources.
Dysphagia Cafe
A global resource community for the Dysphagia Clinician to learn and collaborate about old and new ideas for the benefit of our pediatric and adult patients with dysphagia.
MedlinePlus: Dysphagia
Includes a basic description of dysphagia plus links to resources for symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and lifestyle practices.
Dyshphagia Info Page
A topic page from NIH's NIDCD, plus links to related topics, and organizations that provide more information.

Pediatric/School Age

School-Based Service Delivery in Speech-Language Pathology
This resource is designed to provide information about the range of service delivery models in schools, considerations for providing these services, and relevant resources.
Texas State Requirements
State requirements to practice as an SLP in a school setting.
ASHA Roles and Responsibilities of SLPs in Schools
A selection of do's and don't's for SLP activities in a school setting.

Stuttering

MedlinePlus: Stuttering
Includes a basic description of stuttering plus links to resources for symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and lifestyle practices.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
An overview of stuttering, including links to additional resources.
Stuttering
A topic page on stuttering from AHSA, which includes an overview of the condition and links to additional resources.
National Stuttering Association
The NSA provides education and support to children and adults who stutter, family members, professionals, and the public, in an ongoing effort to increase understanding of stuttering. Check under the "Resources" tab for more information.

Voice Disorders

Voice Disorders
A topic page on voice disorders from AHSA, which includes an overview of the condition and links to additional resources.
ASHA Voice Evidence Map
Resources providing scientific evidence, expert opinion, and client/caregiver perspective.
MedlinePlus: Voice Disorders
Includes a basic description of voice disorders plus links to resources for symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and lifestyle practices.
Voice Disorders
A comprehensive resource portal for voice disorders from the Voice Foundation.