Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Libraries Services Continuity

Borrowing and Access to Collections

Borrowing Books, DVDs and other Physical Materials

All materials must be requested through the Library Catalog by UT ID holders for pick up at the PCL Desk. There is no access to stacks (shelves) in PCL or other library locations to browse and select books on your own.

1. Search for items in the Library Catalog and click Pick it Up to place your request. You will be prompted to log in with your UT EID and authenticate with DUO.

2. When your item is available for pick up at the PCL Desk, you will receive an email with instructions about how to retrieve your materials at PCL. You will need your UT ID card to retrieve your materials. It may take up to 3 business days to fulfill your request. If the item isn't on the shelf, we will notify you after searching for it twice.

3. For information about what to expect when you go to PCL to pick up your item, see Building Access.

 

Proxy Borrowers: Find information and a request form to sponsor a Proxy Borrower to check out Libraries materials on your behalf.

Archives and Special Collections: Find information about access to UT Libraries Archives and Special Collections during this time.

Access to Online Resources

The UT Libraries offers access to millions of online resources including ebooks, articles, streaming audio and video, maps and more to current UT-Austin students, faculty and staff. In addition to our normally available online resources, we have additional online resources that have been made available temporarily during this time. When accessing Libraries online resources from off-campus, you will be prompted for your EID and required DUO authentication.

Tips:

  • If you are using Google Scholar from off campus, you can look up any resources you find that are behind a paywall in the Libraries search box.
  • Going directly to a publisher website will not grant you access to the full text through the Libraries subscriptions.  Instead, you must find the publication or resource through the Libraries web site or a database linked from the Libraries databases page.
  • Electronic Resources: Troubleshooting: This guide will help you troubleshoot off-campus access.

Access FAQs

I want a physical copy of a book but the Pick it Up option isn't showing up. Instead there is a just a link to an ebook in HathiTrust.

Lending a physical copy of a book available through HathiTrust violates our agreement with HathiTrust. See HathiTrust and Collections Access for more information.

I want to see current issues of a journal and it is only available in print. What do I do?

We are not set up to lend current issues of print journals. Since they are not browseable at this time, use the Get a Scan service to request a scan of the table of contents, and then request scans of any articles of interest to you.

I want to borrow a physical map.

The Map Room is closed for construction, making the map collection inaccessible. Construction is estimated to wrap up by the end of the fall semester.  See our extensive online map collection and contact us for assistance.

I want to borrow a physical item but I am studying/working away from campus. Can you mail it to me?

Remote delivery for off-campus users is currently suspended. You may request portions of the items via Get a Scan or ask a librarian for help accessing an electronic version or an alternate resource.

Can I use VPN to connect to online library resources so I don't have to log in?

In order to access Libraries resources as though you were on campus, you must use Remote Desktop to connect to your computer on campus. Remote Desktop requires that you have an active, powered-on computer on campus that you can connect to, and know the name/computer credentials to make the remote desktop connection. If you need help doing this, contact IT support in your college/school/department. VPN alone without Remote Desktop does not work.  With the implementation of DUO, accessing Libraries resources as though you were on campus may or may not require an EID and DUO authentication. See the DUO guide for more information.

Get Help

Information & Research Help: 

Borrowing & Library Account Help:

  • (512) 495-4300
  • circserv@lib.utexas.edu

Interlibrary Loan and Get a Scan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requestsThe borrowing of any physical items from partner libraries is unavailable until further notice. We can supply book chapters (one chapter per request form and up to three chapters maximum), articles and ebooks (if available).

All Interlibrary loan items were due 8/31/20. ILL items can be returned to the PCL book return. If you have left Austin and need to return your ILL items, please email ilsreq@lib.utexas.edu

Our Remote Delivery Service is temporarily suspended until further notice.

The Get a Scan service (requesting scans from UT Libraries print materials), is available for UT students, faculty and staff. Requests take 7-10 days to fulfill.

Please note: All interlibrary loan and scanning services for users and organizations outside of UT are currently unavailable.

Helpilsreq@lib.utexas.edu

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.