Find Sources - UGS 302: MEDS FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS - Castleberry - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Articles on a Topic

What do you need?	Start here
Background information	Encyclopedias - Start with Gale eBooks Drug information - AccessPharmacy (links below)
Scholarly Articles on a topic	See suggested databases below. Use keywords to search in databases The libraries pay to have access to these databases.
A specific article you have the citation for	1. Search for the article title in the main search bar on the library homepage. Look for it under articles and more 2. If you don't find it, try to search for the journal title and look under journals under results. See if we have the journal for the year you need. 3. Use chat for help.

Learn more about databases with the video in the right column.

See search examples on the second tab in this box, "Keywords and Database Searching"

Keyword tool
Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.

Start with your drug name, and then add in a symptom or disease it might treat. You might also try searching by a group of drugs, for example using antibiotics instead of a particular antibiotic.

Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases, rather than whole sentences.

insomnia be helped by OTC products, does this have an impact on X (or is it more effective than X)?

For each main concept, brainstorm a few synonyms and related terms (broader or narrower) that get at that concept:

Key Concepts

Insomnia

Over the Counter Products

Aspect (x)

Related Terms

Chronic Insomnia

Acute Insomnia

Primary Insomnia

Comorbid Insomnia

Melatonin

Tryptophan

Valerian Tea

Stress

Mental Health

Diet

Physical activity

depression

anxiety

PTSD

Combine key terms using AND and OR:
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles).
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).
Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search:

Databases and Web Resources for your Class

Library Databases
Web Resources

Drug basics

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
You can find drug basics here, but this is also a great place to find your book source!
Updated regularly. Provides an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. Allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across over 20 pharmacy and medical online references. Includes functional calculators, lab test information, and an integrated drug database.

Users will need to create a free personal account to access the self-assessment tools, create cases & my care plans, and save images. To create a free account, click on the "My Profile" drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the Access Pharmacy home page. Click "Login or Create a Free Personal Account." At the bottom of the pop-up window, click on "Create a Free Access Profile" and follow the directions to set up your account.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users. Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Firefox, and Safari.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to point-of-care information from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical applications. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Full database access. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A drug information application that provides peer reviewed, clinically-relevant information on drugs available in the United States, including off-label uses and dosages, herbal supplements, nutritional products, and new and investigational drugs. Features include drug interaction reports and drug identification searching.
Access to this resource is funded by the College of Pharmacy.
NATMED PRO This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.

Background Information

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Multidisciplinary databases

Main library search - advanced search
The advanced version of the main search bar on the library homepage.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Health-specific databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.
NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.

Google Search Tips:

Search only a specific site (ex: nih.gov) or domain (ex: .edu or .gov) by typing in your search followed by site:.org, site:.gov (ex: “dxm abuse” site:nih.gov)
Search for an exact phrase by putting your search terms in quotation marks (ex: “over the counter”)

FDA Approved Drug Products
History of the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) approval of over-the-counter medicines; includes similar drugs and label information.
Dietary Supplement Label Database
Information about ingredients in more than three thousand selected brands of dietary supplements.
Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets
Links to herbal and dietary supplement information from the NIH.
Medline Plus
Authoritative information about OTCs and supplements from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Choose Drugs and Supplements, then search for your drug name.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.