LibGuides: ME/CE 398T: Supervised Teaching in Engineering: Journal &amp; Magazine Articles

Finding Peer Reviewed Research

The databases below are great places to start your search for peer reviewed research about your social issues and about social entrepreneurship. To search them all at once, go into one of the databases, then follow the "Choose Databases" and then select additional databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users.
"The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
EBSCO search tutorials
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
1966 (selected full text from 1993) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

Interfaces and search options vary across databases, but best practices for searching are relatively consistent across tools. No matter which database you choose, remember these important tips...

1) Don't search wth your topic as a single phrase! Determine the key concepts of your topic. Then place each concept in its own search bar. For example...

2) Use ORs to string together synonyms or related terms for core concepts...

3) Use truncation, when appropriate. Adding an * to the end of a word will catch all forms of that word. For example, teach* will return teach, teachers, teaching, etc.

If you have found too many articles about your topic or issue, take the time to use additional keywords and/or database limiters to make your search results more useful and more manageable.

For example, if you've searched for "antiracist education" OR "antiracist teaching" and find too much or see too many things about teaching young children, add another line of search terms to focus on higher education...

You many also want to limit to certain types of sources..

Look for the "peer reviewed" limit in each database if you'd like to focus on educational research, and set date limits as appropriate for your topic..The last 10 years is often a good default.

Don't choose the "Full Text" limit! Read the "Accessing the Articles" section to learn why.

When reviewing the results, you'll sometimes see the the full text of the article is included in the results...

But sometimes the full text isn't right there. In those cases, don't skip it if the article is a good match for you. Always click on the "Find it @ UT" button to see if we have online access from another source....

If the "Find it @ UT" button doesn't take you to a copy, you can always request the article through our Interlibrary Loan service. We'll borrow a PDF for you!