Background information provides a general overview of a research topic, including important terms and concepts, relevant names of people or places, and dates of specific events.
Finding background information can help you locate keywords for searching databases and identify more specific areas of your topic that you may want to research further.
Encyclopedia articles contain general facts and basic overviews. Check with your professor before citing an encyclopedia article, as they are not peer-reviewed scholarly sources.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
5 users.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a comprehensive digital research encyclopedia that describes Latin America’s peoples and experiences from 1491 and before to contemporary times. Updated monthly, the encyclopedia contains in-depth, peer-reviewed articles by leading scholars in the field.
Unlimited users.
Selected titles only. Platform for Sage book and reference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Only select book titles purchased by the UT Libraries are fully accessible.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora
by
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Brazil Today
by
EID login required
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.