LibGuides: AFR 315: Afro-Brazilian Diaspora / Afolabi: Find Articles

Searching on the Library Website

Start searching with the big search box on the library homepage.

It searches most but not all the library's resources and will show results across six different categories: Articles & More, Books & Media, Journals, Databases, Research Guides, and the Library Website.

A more targeted place to search is at the link for Articles & More beneath the search bar.

We also encourage you to explore the other databases and journals we offer since Articles & More doesn't show results from all sources.

Finding Articles in Databases

Single articles on a topic are found in our library databases. The UT Libraries pay to have access to these databases and the articles they contain.

You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:

Type of Database

About

Start Here

Multidisciplinary

Include popular and scholarly articles on all topics
Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
Great for assignments where you may only need a few sources

Academic Search Complete

Subject-specific

Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
To choose a database, think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic, then use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu on the Databases page to find that department. (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology topics)

See the course-specific list below

Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)

Learn more about databases with the video in the right column.

See search examples on the last tab in this box, "Keywords and Database Searching"

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior.
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.
Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. Citations to articles, essays and book reviews relating to Latin America or from Latin American periodicals. Primarily Spanish, English and Portuguese titles.
Updated annually. Citations to articles, essays and book reviews relating to Latin America or from Latin American periodicals. Primarily Spanish, English and Portuguese titles.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1955 - present. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
1936 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases, rather than whole sentences. Think of different ways to say those key terms, because different writers will refer to the same concept using different terms. To turn your topic into keywords or search terms, use this tool, or:

Write down your topic and underline the main concepts (ex. favelas' impact on creative culture in Brazil)

For each main concept, brainstorm a few synonyms and related terms (broader or narrower) that get at that concept:

Key Concepts

Favelas

Brazil

Creative culture

Related Terms

favella

favelados

urban slums

Dance

Music

samba

carnival

Combine key terms using AND and OR:
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles).
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).
Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search:

Need Primary Sources?

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new window
The Oliveira Lima Library contains 2,800 pamphlets, including 100 Brazilian incunabula. Most of the pamphlets relate specifically to Brazil. They are on Brazilian subjects, or their authors are Brazilian, whether the pamphlets were published in Brazil or elsewhere. The most important subject areas of the pamphlets are history, politics and literature. Other topics include social and economic conditions, travel, agriculture, immigration, indigenous peoples, religion, women’s rights, biography, diplomacy, law, education, the press, medicine, public health, railroads, ports, foreign and international relations, geography, geology, art, academic societies, Pan-Americanism, positivism, the First World War, the Portuguese and Spanish empires, and Spanish American history and culture. The chronological span of the subjects covered is primarily from 1500 to 1930. The majority of the material was published in Brazil or Portugal.

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.

Don't see the "Get a Scan" button? Click here to go to the "Get a Scan" form.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required