Find Articles

Pick Terms to Use in your Search

Sample topic: The effect of socio-economic status on educational attainment in Brazil

Step 1: Think about the key concepts of your topic and search those instead of an entire phrases or sentences.

Key concepts: socio-economic status educational attainment, Brazil
Wait? Why not "effect"? Words like "effect" or "pro/con" should be avoided. The articles you find will be about the impact or effect, so adding those words unnecessarily narrows your search.

Step 2: Think of other terms you could use that are synonyms or words that represent a narrower or broader aspect of the topic.

Other terms for socio-economic status = SES, class, poor, poverty, middle class, wealthy, elite
Other terms for educational attainment = education level, college education, high school education
Other terms for Brazil = Brasil

Step 3: Connect your terms using AND and OR:

Example 1: socio-economic status AND educational attainment AND Brazil
Example 2: Socio-economic status OR class OR poverty AND educational attainment OR education level AND Brazil

Remember -

AND narrows your topic (use AND between terms if you want them all to appear in your results)
OR broadens your topic (use OR between terms if you want any, not all, to appear in your results)

Generate Keywords from a Topic
This tool can help you generate keywords.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and non-scholarly sources from across fields
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use GoogleScholar through this guide or the Libraries website to search for scholarly sources and be passed through to Library subscriptions instead of hitting a paywall.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Libraries Search Box
Searches across many, but not all, of the Libraries resources. Can limit to articles, books, and more

PAIS This link opens in a new window
Public affairs
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.

Where is the article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.

UGS 302: Evidence-based Social Change - Prof. Marteleto

Pick Terms to Use in your Search

Library Article Databases

Where is the article?

Follow the Research