PREVIEW Find scholarly analysis - Fodder - TC 302: Prof. Walker - Educational Disparities - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Why use works by scholars?

As you research educational disparities and how to assure the success of first generation college students,, works by scholars will provide you with the following:

* in-depth analysis of programs and services for first generation college students to learn what has and has not worked. It might not be about UT, but you can apply what you learn to the context of UT

* expert information and theory about effective approaches to supporting equitable outcomes for first generation college students as well as research into the needs and characteristics of the first generation college student.

How to search for scholarly works

Library databases can't be searched the same way as Google so take a few moments to come up with a search strategy before diving into a database.

Step 1: Think about the key concepts of your topic and search those instead of an entire phrases or sentences.

Step 2: Think of other terms you could use that are synonyms or related (they could be a broader or narrower aspect). This often requires that you do a little background research to learn more.

Step 3: Connect your terms using AND and OR:

Remember -

AND narrows your topic (use AND between terms if you want them all to appear in your results)
OR broadens your topic (use OR between terms if you want any, not all, to appear in your results)

Some useful keywords for your topic:

first generation	undergraduate	equity
first-generation	college student	graduation
first in family	university student	retention
	post secondary	programs
	higher education	success
		services

Generate Keywords from a Topic
This tool can help you create search terms and formulate an effective search.

Find Peer-reviewed Journal Articles by Scholars

Multidisciplinary Search Tools
Specialized Databases

Libraries Search Box
Search across many of the Libraries electronic and print resources at once. Includes articles, books, ebooks and more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers from across disciplines.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use a Google search to find scholarly sources. Use it through this link or the Libraries web site to be connected to UT Libraries subscriptions instead of hitting a paywall.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Find articles from scholarly journals in the field of education, including higher education.
"The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
EBSCO search tutorials
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles in the field of psychology to explore factors related to persistence, help-seeking, mental health and inclusion for first generation college students.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journal articles relation to the administration of higher education, which would include topics like programs, services and assessments of how well those work.
Includes more than 190,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Find Scholars' Blogs and Twitter Accounts

Many scholars share their research and arguments on blogs and social media, especially Twitter, in advance of or in addition to sharing through the scholarly publishing process. You will find active conversations between scholars, especially as it relates to current events and pressing issues they want to weigh in on without waiting for the long scholarly publishing process. In addition, numerous professors who were first generation college students themselves share their experiences as mentors to current undergraduates in this way. To find blogs, search Google with your keywords and add blog.

Where is the article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.

What is a Peer-Reviewed Journal Article?

Peer Review

Peer-reviewed journal articles, sometimes known as scholarly, refereed or academic articles, have the following characteristics:

1. Written by researchers/scholars

2. Reviewed by other researchers/scholars - this process is called peer-review

3. Published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals

4. Written for an audience of other researchers/scholars

5. Created to share research with others in the scholarly discipline

If you can't tell whether or not a journal is peer-reviewed, check Ulrichsweb.

access the database
type in the title of the journal
peer-reviewed journals will have a referee jersey ("refereed" is another term for "peer-reviewed") - example below