LibGuides: AMS 370: Preserving ATX Queer History: Physical Archives

On Campus

Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)
Search for physical archival collections on campus and at other institutions across Texas
Benson Latin American Collection
One of the premier libraries in the world focused on Latin America and Latin@ Studies, featuring over a million volumes as well as a wealth of original manuscripts, photographs and various media related to Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean and Latina/Latino presence in the United States.
Notable queer collections include: The Gloria Anzaldúa Papers; Dennis Medina Collection of Gay and Lesbian Hispanics Unidos (GLHU) Records; National Latino/a Lesbian and Gay Organization (LLEGÓ) Records.
Dolph Briscoe Center for American History
A leading history research center that collects, preserves, and makes available documentary and material culture evidence encompassing key themes in Texas and U.S. history.
Notable queer collections include: The Lesbian Issues Collection, the Texas Human Rights Foundation Records, the UT Gender and Sexuality Center Records, the Waterloo Counseling Center Records.
Harry Ransom Center
An internationally renowned humanities research library and museum. Its extensive collections provide unique insight into the creative process of writers and artists, deepening our understanding and appreciation of literature, photography, film, art, and the performing arts.
Notable queer collections include: The Gertrude Stein Collection, the Oscar Wilde Collection, the George Cecil Ives Collection

Texas

Austin History Center - LGBT Resource Guide
A guide to the Austin History Center's collections and resources relating to LGBTQ+ history and culture in Austin.
University of Houston Libraries LGBT History Research Collection
Collections that preserve and promote collective understanding of Houston’s and the region’s Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender communities and service organizations.
University of North Texas Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Archive
A repository for records documenting the history and culture of the LGBT communities in the South and the Southwest.
Lavender Legacies Guide: Texas
An inventory of LGBTQ+ archives, both physical and digital, from around the state of Texas. Provided by the Society of American Archivists.
Gulf Coast Archive and Museum of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender History, Inc.
The main website for the GCAM project, includes both digitized documents and publications, and guides to physical collections. Digital collections are searchable through the University of Houston's digital repository.

What Are Archives?

The word archives refers to the permanently valuable records, including letters, reports, accounts, minute books, draft and final manuscripts, and photographs. These records are created by people, businesses, organizations, and government. The word archives is also used to refer to the building or part of a building in which archival materials are kept (Society of American Archivists, 2022).

Physical archival repositories, including those on UT's campus, require a visit in person to view and use the materials. Most physical archival collections have an online Finding Aid, which is an inventory of the documents and records held in that collection. While many archival collections are digitizing their material, most physical archives are only available in person, and the online finding aids will help you prepare for a visit ahead of time. Note that they often do NOT link to digitized copies of the materials.

Preparing to Use Physical Archives

Before you visit an archive, it helps to be prepared so you can make the most of your time. The following resource will guide you through what to do ahead of time to get ready for research.

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research
This guide from the Society of American Archivists outlines the functions and procedures of archives, and is designed for first-time archives users.

If you have questions about finding archival collections for your research and preparing to use them, contact Gina Bastone, the Humanities Librarian at the PCL.