LibGuides: 2022 YSEALI Scholars: Find articles using databases

Recommended Library Databases

The list of library databases provided by the University of Texas at Austin is under Databases on the library homepage. The list of over 800 databases may be sorted and searched in various ways. Here are the ones that should be most helpful for finding papers within the literature of engineering and renewables:

The top indexes for engineering and science are:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
1884 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
1785 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
1898 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
1940 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Index to worldwide research publications in mathematics, published by the American Mathematical Society. Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A multi-society library that provides a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
Currently indexes more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently.
The following organizations are among those with their conference papers and technical documents indexed through OnePetro:
- American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
- American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
- Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)
- NACE International (corrosion engineers)
- Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) **includes full-text
- Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA)
- The Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
- World Petroleum Council (WPC)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status. Authenticating with UT EID will ensure the Findit@UT button is available in search results.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
1907 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from the TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Also notable:

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1934 (with selective coverage back to 1741) - current. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Building Green This link opens in a new window
1992 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Includes information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building, including energy efficiency, recycled-content materials, land-use planning and indoor air quality. Integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News (EBN), and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. Provides a searchable and cross-referenced format.
Registering for a personal profile helps you stay informed about new content added to the BuildingGreen website. Each month there is a new feature-length article on a design-related topic as well as reviews of building materials and case studies of high performance buildings. By signing up for a personal profile you will receive the monthly issue notice.
Use this link and access code to create a personal account:
http://www2.buildinggreen.com/cw-account
University of Texas at Austin Access code: 16H7KOA9
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.

Can't access the article?

If you do not see an HTML or PDF of the article you want, click on the "Find it @ UT button" - it should connect you to the database where the item is actually held.

If you have trouble, chat with a librarian.