LibGuides: UGS 303: Contested Istanbul / Okur: Developing your topic through research

Using encyclopedias to learn more about a topic

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. All the available volumes are grouped into broad topics for quick and easy browsing (see the list below), or the entire series can be searched using the basic or advanced search features. Specific histories consist of either one volume or a numered series and cover all major regions of the world (i.e. Cambridge History of Africa, Cambridge History of Latin America).
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated irregularly. We have access to editions two and three. Includes articles on all aspects of the Islamic World. Discusses religion, history, politics, culture, distinguished Muslims, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, and other topics. Permits searching in both English and Arabic transcription.
The special fonts that are needed to use this database can be downloaded from the opening screen of the database.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.

The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Travel and Tourism by Linda L. Lowry (Editor)
ISBN: 1483368947
Publication Date: 2017-07-07
The Palgrave Handbook of Literature and the City by Jeremy Tambling (Editor)
ISBN: 1137549106
Publication Date: 2017-02-27

Data about Turkey

The World Bank: Health, Nutrition and Population Stats
Key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international sources.
World Bank Country Guides
Global economic data; carbon emissions, GDP, education, life expectancy, population, etc.

World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
1960 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. An extensive collection of data about global development. Provides more than 550 times series covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
World Bank Terms of Use
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in xls or pdf format.
Divided into broad sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices and many others, the database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, and other breakdowns.