LibGuides: UGS 303: Contested Istanbul / Okur: Find Scholarship and News

Newspapers and Popular Sources (in English)

New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
1851 - 2018. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
More recent years are also available in other full text resources.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
1785 - 1985. Unlimited users.
Provides a complete digital edition of The Times (London). Includes keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Al-Monitor: The Pulse of the Middle East This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. A new media site that provides access to newspaper articles from independent media partners throughout the Arab World, including Turkey, Israel, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, and Iraq. Each day, editors translate Arabic, Hebrew, and Turkish reporting and commentary on politics and religion, business and economics, society and culture, and the arts and sports. The service has an international editorial board and also provides original reporting and commentary.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
1995 - 2013. Unlimited users.
Contains materials provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources. Compiled from thousands of worldwide media sources.

Peer reviewed articles

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 This link opens in a new window
1820 - present. Unlimited users.
Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
1906 - current. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes a wide range of periodicals and collective publications, as well as monographs.

Search 'everything'

Here is what your results page will look like when you do a search on www.lib.utexas.edu. Open in new tab/window to view larger.

The New York Times

The New York Times offers incomparable coverage of national and international news.

As a UT student, you have free unlimited access to the New York Times at nyt.com. This includes Cooking, Games and the Athletic. Your access to nyt is directly through the site and the app, not through our databases, which makes the reading experience easier and more enjoyable.

You may download the nyt app to your phone and access the full subscription.

Being an informed citizen makes doing research in every subject easier, makes you a better communicator and a more empathetic human.

Use this guide to set up your account.