Modern and Contemporary China

Unlimited users.

China Statistical Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels.

Unlimited user.

British diplomatic reports. A collection of reports established as an integrated series by R. L. Jarman, F.R.G.S. The documents are listed in detail at the front of each volume and source references given for the benefit of scholars.

10 users.

The People’s Republic of China (PRC) National History Database consists of 300 titles containing over 60,000 illustrations. The database carries authoritative materials on the economic, social, cultural and political developments since the founding of the PRC.

Unlimited users.

Archive provides insight into how communist, socialist, and far-left groups and figures saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events that occurred in the twentieth century. The primary sources in this collection come from multiple regions, offering the opportunity for a comparative study of left-wing thinking and government ideology.

Unlimited users.

The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.

Part of the Global Press Archive initiative. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.

Unlimited users.

晚清期刊全文数据库includes Chinese language journals of all subjects published 1833-1911. 302 journal titles are covered. The database is not truly full-text, but images of articles.

晚清期刊全文数据库 is one of Shanghai Library’s "全国报刊索引" databases. UT has access to two databases in 全国报刊索引: 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 and 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949.

Unlimited users.

Includes full text of over 300 periodicals published in Taiwan during Japanese rule (1895-1945). Database produced by the National Taiwan Library.

Access to this resource is provided by the National Central Library (Taiwan) in support of the Taiwan Resource Center for Chinese Studies (TRCCS) at UT.

Unlimited users.

Mobilizing East Asia contains English-language newspapers, magazines, pamphlets and books from East Asia from the turn of the twentieth century to the 1950s. The collection includes titles such as the Hongkong News, Japan Times Weekly, Nippon Times Weekly , Manchurian Daily News, and Trans-Pacific Online

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.

Unlimited users.

Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education. The University of Hong Kong Libraries, with a rich collection of Hong Kong journals, developed this database with the objectives of facilitating efficient information retrieval and preserving archival materials. Issues included in this database vary from journal to journal with the earliest going back to 1948. At its first release, more than 170,000 images from over 40 titles will be accessible on the database. More titles with permission granted for digitizing their full text will be included to the database. New issues of the titles will also be added as soon as being received. Scholars doing research on Hong Kong will find this an invaluable resource.