Modern and Contemporary China

Annotated Bibliography of Literature in Chinese Translation (Han yi bian nian wen xue kao lu 汉译编年文学考录) chronologically documents historical sources of Chinese literary translation in literary journals, 1896–1949. It includes times of publication and other bibliographic information and provides full-text access to the primary sources, allowing comprehensive access to the historical phenomena related to Chinese literary translation.

The Ailing Zhang papers is a special collection hold at the USC library. It consist of six boxes of correspondence, manuscripts, newspaper clippings and journal articles, photographs, and essays, articles, and speeches (written by Zhang Ailing). 138 letters, 45 photos, 5 articles and 2 manuscripts are digitized and can be accessed online.

The best way to improve Chinese reading skills is to get lots of practice on a regular basis. The collection of Chinese texts presented here is intended as a resource for students of written Chinese from the advanced beginner level onward. The selections represent a wide range of periods and genres, but all are well known in modern-day China and worth reading in their own right.

An online congregating site and database for Chinese literature in translation.

Hong Kong Literature Database is the first database on Hong Kong literature. It has been in use for more than two decades since its launched on 15 June 2000. As at June 2020, the database consists of nearly 588,000 records, including more that 200 Hong Kong journals and literary supplement of 20 Hong Kong early newspapers. In addition, it includes the Hong Kong Literature Archives donated by Prof. Lo Wai-lun (aka Xiao Si). The database aims to support the teaching and research of Hong Kong literature and promoting its development.