LibGuides: African Studies: Browse By Source Type

By Source Type

African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1805 - 1925. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Includes Series I and Series II, and provides more than 50 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from in a variety of African countries. Covers the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region.
AN represents the another collection of the World Newspaper Archive, a partnership between the Center for Research Librariesa community and Readex, a division of NewsBank, to systematically create an extensive Web-based collection of international newspapers. CRL will guarantee the long-term availability of this news content for the CRL community.
Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1870 - 2019. Unlimited.
Includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.

Part of the Global Press Archive initiative. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
1995 - 2013. Unlimited users.
Contains materials provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources. Compiled from thousands of worldwide media sources.

Daily Observer Digital Archive
Founded in 1981, the Daily Observer is Liberia’s best-known, independent, national newspaper. The Daily Observer is notable for its coverage of the modern history of Liberia—including the Liberian Civil War and through its current phase of development.
East African Standard, Mombasa Times and Uganda Argus
1903-1915.
Indian Opinion (South Africa)
1903-1922.
Le Monde Afrique
List of African News Sources Online
From Stanford Libraries, a curated list of African newspapers online by country
Observer (Monrovia, Liberia)
1878-1883.
Rand Daily Mail (South Africa)
1905-1910.

African Media Program
A searchable database of audiovisual materials concerning Africa

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Includes field notes, film and audio recordings from around the world, including music.
Online collection brings together audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s. It consists primarily of field recordings, along with selections of contextualizing field notes, photographs, and film. At completion, it will contain over 2,000 hours of audio field recordings, as well as 10,000 pages of text, 5,000 photographs, and 200 hours of field film footage.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete online version of the 10-volume print set of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.
Provides access to the complete online version of the 10-volume print set of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.

Music Time in Africa Archive
The Music Time in Africa Archive consists of digitized audio recordings and the associated scripts (where available) of the radio program broadcast by the Voice of America beginning in 1965.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
An enhanced electronic version of the print Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians providing the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource on all aspects of music.
An enhanced electronic version of the print Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians providing the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource on all aspects of music. Includes regular online updates of the complete text of the print edition with links to thousands of images, digital sound files and other related web sites.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

South African Film & Video Project
A multimedia archive of audio and video related to South Africa and Southern African countries. A collaboration between Michigan State and partners in South Africa.

Africana Historic Postcard Collection
AGSL Digital Photo Archive: Africa
AGSL Digital Photo Archive - Africa presents a selection of images from the extensive photographic holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library
Artstor: Sub-Saharan African Art
Browse and search Artstor's digital library collection of African Sub-Saharan art
Digitized and Catalogued African Posters
The almost 600 Africana posters cover topics such as politics, health, religion, liberation struggles, art exhibitions, and social issues. From the Herskovits Library at Northwestern University
Images of Colonialism
Digitized photographs from Harvard Library
National Archives (UK)
Images from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection
Smithsonian National Museum of African Art
Browse over 10,000 pieces in the Smithsonian's African art and photograph collection online.

16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
Africa Maps from PCL Map Collection
Afriterra
These 5000 historical maps equip everyone everywhere to visualize, analyze, and uncover an Africa often hidden from view.
Maps of Africa: An Online Exhibit
Thousands of maps from Stanford's Maps of Africa collection

Afrobarometer
An independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa.
globalEDGE
Search or browse by country to find historical, economic and political statistical data for that area
Ibrahim Index of African Governance (IIAG)
The Ibrahim Index of African Governance (IIAG) is a tool that measures and monitors governance performance in African countries.
International Inventories Programme: Kenya Cultural Heritage
Currently, the database includes over 32,000 records of historic Kenyan cultural objects from thirty institutions worldwide.
Nigerian National Bureau of Statistics
This agency is responsible for collecting, compiling, analyzing, interpreting, publishing and disseminating statistical information relating to the socio-economic life and conditions of the people of Nigeria

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
1998 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Comprises 17 Studies by Themes for monographs and reports; all OECD books and papers published since 1998; and the OECD statistical datasets online, which cover over 80 countries with data going back to the 1960s.
Note: Datasets from the International Energy Agency (IEA) are not included in our subscription.
World dataBank This link opens in a new window
Free access to more than 7,000 indicators from over 20 datasets on world development, including World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance
Updated regularly. Free access to more than 7,000 indicators from over 20 datasets on world development, including World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Dates of coverage begin in 1960 but vary by dataset and country. You can create reports with tables, charts, and maps and export the results in standard formats.

World Health Organization: African Region
Reliable and standardized health statistics and data about the health sector in Africa
See more global statistics databases on the International Relations and Global Studies guide

Cooperative Africana Microform Project (CAMP)

The Cooperative Africana Microform Project makes a variety of primary source material available to researchers via Interlibrary Loan. Included are records of organizations and missionary societies doing work in Africa, military records, pamphlet collections and other ephemera, among other resources.

The CAMP collection guide is available here. You can also search the Center for Research Libraries catalog to find CAMP holdings. The Library of Congress also provides a guide to their extensive microfilm collection of Sub-Saharan African newspapers. These microfilm can also be requested through ILL, viewed and digitized at the PCL. Contact Adriana Cásarez, African Studies Librarian for more information on the digitization process.

To request microfilm reels from the CAMP collection or the Library of Congress collection, use the University of Texas Libraries Interlibrary Loan form.