Skip to Main Content

AFR 387: Performing Blackness / Thompson

Reference and Background

Online Reference Databases

African American Studies Center
A comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture
Gale eBooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Theatre in Context Collection
A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre.

Select Companions & Handbooks

African American Theater: A Cultural Companion by Glenda Dicker/sun
Publication Date: 2008
The Cambridge Companion to African American Theatre by Harvey Young (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
The Cambridge Companion to August Wilson by Christopher Bigsby
Publication Date: 2008
The Cambridge Companion to the Harlem Renaissance by George Hutchinson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007
The Routledge Companion to African American Theatre and Performance by Thomas DeFrantz; Renée Alexander Craft; Sandra L. Richards; Kathy A. Perkins
Publication Date: 2018

Encyclopediae

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (Contribution)
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of the Black Arts Movement by Verner D. Mitchell; Cynthia Davis (Editors)
Publication Date: 2019
Historical Dictionary of African American Theater by Anthony D. Hill
Publication Date: 2018

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2025 5:31 AM
URL: https://guides.lib.utexas.edu/afr387thompson
Print Page

Subjects: African American Studies, African and African Diaspora Studies

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.