LibGuides: AFR 387: Performing Blackness / Thompson: Oral Histories

Oral Histories in Databases

African American Communities (AAC)
Unlimited.
Presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.
HistoryMakers
Unlimited users.
This resource’s unique content is primarily composed of video oral histories recording the African American experience in the first-person. Testimonies captured in The HistoryMakers Collection interviews are conducted in homes and offices across the United States and abroad. The interviews reveal the broad scope of narratives of African American men and women who have made significant contributions to American life, history, and culture during the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Black Women Oral History Project
The project recorded a cross section of 72 African American women who had made significant contributions to American society during the first half of the 20th century.
Civil Rights History Project
Collection of oral histories related to the Civil Rights Movement from the Library of Congress. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide range of topics within the freedom struggle, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists.
Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories
The recordings of former slaves took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states. Twenty-two interviewees discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. The individuals documented in this project have much to say about living as African Americans from the 1870s to the 1930s, and beyond
Behind the Veil Oral History Project
A selection of recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
Black Trans Oral Histories
Here you'll find collected Black trans narratives from both the B.Trans Oral History Project, as well as other oral history projects from across the United States.

Civil Rights in Black and Brown: Oral Histories of the Multiracial Freedom Struggles in Texas
The project recovers the role of local people in the Black civil rights and Chicano/a movements in Texas and sheds new light on the relationships between local, state, and national actors.
Delta Xi AKA Oral History Collection
The Delta Xi chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was the first Black Greek-letter organization established at UT Austin. This oral history collection includes seven video interviews with Delta Xi members, interview transcripts, and images.
Shankleville Community Oral History Collection
The collection contains photographs, documentation, select interview transcriptions, and 11 oral history interviews recounting the history of Shankleville, Texas, a historic freedom colony in East Texas.