AMS 311S: Technology, Science, and Pop Culture / Schneider

Updated regularly. Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and the 1990s, including titles from all 50 states. Search by dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name.

From the library of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection contains more than 500 periodicals related to America from the colonial era through the first years of the Republic. See here for a list of titles included.

From the library of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection of more than 1,200 periodicals represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics. See here for a list of titles included.

Updated daily. Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's Magazine, and Ladies' Home Journal. The search interface allows you to search the complete text, including tables of contents, by boolean and keyword operators. Articles are linked to the corresponding page images, downloadable in PDF format.

A gateway into one of the great conversations in history. These newly prepared digital editions of the papers of many of the major figures of the early republic are presented in a fully searchable and interoperable online environment.

Collections include:

• The Adams Papers
• The Papers of Alexander Hamilton
• The Papers of Andrew Jackson
• The Selected Papers of John Jay
• The Papers of Thomas Jefferson
• The Dolley Madison Digital Edition
• The Papers of James Madison
• The Papers of John Marshall
• The Papers of George Washington
• The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution
• Founders Early Access

Provides full text access to selected articles published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865 from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer. Begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Since the major events are described in detail by both Union and Confederate papers, their opposing perspectives are readily available for comparative evaluation. Includes descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies as well as other topics of the day.

Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

The newspapers and pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available anywhere. The 1,270-title collection includes a wide range of pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period, covering more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.

Covers multiple content types, providing records for more than 11 million documents ranging from books and newspapers to government documents and periodicals. Collection of ten digital archives, including such notable indexes as House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, and Palmer’s Index to the Times of London. Each index can be searched separately, or a comprehensive search of the entire database is also possible.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.

Access to this resource is partially funded by the Emily Knauss Library Endowment for the Liberal Arts.

Provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. Includes titles from throughout the United States, many published in what were, at the time, only territories. Newspapers selected on their immediate value to researchers on the press and on the century in general. Papers selected cover a broad spectrum, with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.

Full text searching allows users to search across the entire database for the specific term/subject/person/event they are looking for. Searches can be restricted by categories (such as, Advertising, Business News, Images, Editorials, etc.), by states & cities, and by date of publication. Also includes a number of scholarly essays on topics and events such as the Confederacy, fires & firefighting, immigration, and elections.

Presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.

The African American Historical Serials Collection, developed in conjunction with American Theological Library Association (ATLA) features more than 170 unique periodical titles related to the history of African American life and culture, with extensive coverage of religious organizations, churches, and institutions. Material was published between 1829 and 1922. See here for a full title list.

Updated regularly (until completed). When completed, will provide online access to approximately 270 African American U.S. newspapers. Features papers from more than 35 states. The newspapers were scanned from the collections of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.

Updated regularly (until completed). When completed, will provide online access to approximately 270 African American U.S. newspapers. Features papers from more than 35 states. The newspapers were scanned from the collections of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.

North American Indigenous journalism spanning two centuries.. Features periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Provides access to a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes historical articles, newspapers, religious pamphlets, broadsides, historical books, letters, short stories, poems, advertisements, and more. The content is in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), and is searchable in both languages. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.

Includes the full image of articles published in the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 2010. You can browse individual issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen, or search by keyword(s), author(s), article title, date ranges, and more. Includes illustrations and advertisements. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. The Defender covered events in the South, such as lynchings, that Southern black newspapers could not safely report. The paper was a major influence for the Great Migration of African Americans to the North in the early 20th century. Later issues of the Chicago Defender are in the Ethnic NewsWatch database.

Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.

A full text collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Includes publications from Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. The ASCII text is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators, and records are linked to the corresponding page images, viewable with the Acrobat Reader plugin from Adobe.

Updated annually. Citations to articles, essays and book reviews relating to Latin America or from Latin American periodicals. Primarily Spanish, English and Portuguese titles.

Provides access to a large compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

Based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project", a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos.

Provides access to historical Jewish newspapers published around the world from the nineteenth century onwards. Includes digital versions of each newspaper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication. Please see the list of all titles included in the database.

The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full‑image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers. The collection now contains over eighty newspapers titles published in Hawaii and the Americas.

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

LGBT Thought and Culture is an online primary source database hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.

The resource provides a look into LGBT life from the late 19th to the early 21st centuries, covering topics such as bars and saloons, gay communities, clubs and social organizations, gay activism and activists, gay rights, AIDS, films, politics, books, medical treatments and procedures, gender identity, discrimination, and more.

Includes material from the Kinsey Institute Archive and Library, the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives, the Jeanne Cordova Papers, the Magnus Hirschfeld Collection, and more.

A collection of biographical material of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Includes biographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, photographs and audio files.Sources include rare books and biographies from more than 100 Indian publications, such as The Arrow, the Cherokee Phoenix, and the Chickasaw Intelligencer. The collection includes 2,000 oral histories presented in audio and transcript form and at least 20,000 photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Edward Curtis, and many rare collections.

An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.

A comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to the current issue, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover will be included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women’s Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Provides full text and page impages of Harper's Weekly, one of the most important serials of nineteenth-century America. Includes browse issues by date, search the index, search for the full text of articles, browse literature by genre, or find people by their cccupation or role in society.

The University of Texas Libraries subscribes to the entire database, including The Civil War Era (1857-1865), Reconstruction I (1866-1871), Reconstruction II (1872-1877), Gilded Age I (1878-1883), Gilded Age II (1884-1889), Gilded Age III (1890-1895), Gilded Age IV (1896-1901), Gilded Age V (1902-1907), and Gilded Age VI (1908-1912).

HarpWeek is designed for Netscape Navigator 3.x or above OR Internet Explorer 3.x or above at 800 X 600 screen resolution with Java, JavaScript and Cookies enabled. Printing pages (which are large -- the original size is 11" x 15.5") can best be accomplished by downloading the page to disk, then opening the page in an image-manipulation program.

OpinionArchives includes the searchable full text of:

• The American Spectator (1967-current)
• Commonweal (1924-current)
• Harper's (1850-current)
• LaFollettes (1919-1929)
• The Nation (1865-current)
• The New Leader (1924-current)
• The New Republic (1914-current)
• The New Yorker (1925-current)
• The Progressive (1909-current)
• The Weekly Standard (1995-current)

Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers more than 375 titles.

View the list of journals covered.

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

The Vogue Archive also features specialist indexing of full-page images from photo features. This has been newly created by Condé Nast, with expert indexers using controlled lists to apply keywords to each separate image within a document. There are separate designated fields for Fashion Item (e.g. kimono, Breton jacket, scoop neckline), Person Pictured, Company/brand, Designer Name and Material (e.g. chiffon, wool).

Updated twice per year. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.

Access to full text portion of this resource is funded by the the Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies.

Detailed indexing of over 800 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed. Indexing from 33 historic print index cumulations. Citations for 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Updated subject headings to make finding older citations easier, though original subject headings are also retained to provide insight into the way issues of the day were framed.

EBSCO search tutorials

Updated regularly.

International Index to Film Periodicals

Contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals covnering theyears 1972 to present.

Treasures from Film Archives

Contains credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world, with brief identification information on over 40,500 works.

Documentation Collections

Detailed information about the documentation collections of the world's foremost film archives, libraries, and educational institutions.

FIAF Members' Publications

The FIAF Members' Publications search allows you to find detailed information on books, pamphlets, programmes, and other materials published since 1966 by FIAF archives.

Search this database along with its two companion databases (American Film Institute Catalog and Film Index International) at the Screen Studies Collection.

Updated regularly. Provides a collection of legal periodicals, reproducing the original image of each article. Includes over 1,200 law review journals containing more than 600,000 articles from 21,000 volumes.

Coverage begins from the first issue of each journal to roughly one year prior to the current year.

All journal content is in PDF format, so the pages appear just as they do in the printed version of the journal. Additionally, charts, graphs, photographs and similar non-text items are reproduced as they originally appeared in print.

Also provides access to the following:

• Federal Register
• Statutes at Large (the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress, browseable by volume, popular name or treaty)
• U.S. Supreme Court Library

Access to this resource is funded by the Tarlton Law Library at the Jamail Center for Legal Research.

Restricted to current UT students, faculty and staff. Not available to Official UT Retirees

Updated semi-annually. The Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM: Repertoire International de la Presse Musicale) indexes articles from over 60 international 19th and 20th-century music periodicals in all major languages. Citations include author and title of article, periodical data, and a brief note of contents (e.g., "review"). Annotations or abstracts are not included. Includes writings about composers, performers, and compositions, and provides a documentary history of 19th-century music and musical life.