LibGuides: Text Data Mining: Licensed Library Datasets & Resources

Licensed Library Datasets & Resources

If you want to mine content from a library database, you must follow the license agreement that the library negotiated with the database owner. Many library resources do not allow automated or systematic downloading of articles or creation of corpuses for textual analysis. Using scripts or software to download content can result in a loss of access for the entire campus, as well as suspension of individual accounts. Please contact your subject librarian before beginning a project so we can make sure we're complying with our contracts. Below are a few resources that allow text data mining. There are others.

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Users may use the licensed materials to engage in text and/or data mining activities for academic research, scholarship, and other educational purposes.
Updated frequently. The product has two parts:
- The ACM Full-Text collection. The full-text of ACM publications.
- The ACM Guide to Computing Literature. Described as, “the most comprehensive bibliographic database in existence today focused exclusively on the field of computing."

De Gruyter
Authorized users may perform and engage in text or data mining activities for academic research, scholarship and other educational purposes.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
In order to download datasets and documentation, UT users must create an account and login using their @utexas.edu or @austin.utexas.edu email account, in order to be recognized as being affiliated with a member institution.

ICPSR is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data, containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Available data can be browsed by topic or searched.
Institute of Physics (IOP) Electronic Journals
Member institutions will be permitted to carry out text and data mining of the publications.
Updated weekly. Provides full text access to the journals published by the Institute of Physics.

Sage Publications Inc.
Authorized users may use the licensed material to perform and engage in text mining /data mining activities for legitimate academic research and other educational purposes. UT Libraries subscribes to Sage Knowledge, Sage Premier Journals and Sage Research Methods.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Elsevier allows text mining of content in its ScienceDirect database. For Elsevier's policy, as well instructions for accessing and using their API, please consult the Elsevier web site.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.

Books: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These books are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.

Taylor & Francis, Informa
Authorised users may use the licensed materials to perform and engage in text mining/ data mining activities for academic research and other educational purposes. UT Libraries subscribes to Taylor & Francis e-books, and Taylor & Francis Journals.

A note about NexisUni

NexisUni (which has news and legal information) has access limits:

daily limit of 2,500 documents for each individual at UT with a max of 100 at a time
there is an API that allows for bulk data downloads, but this requires an additional charge (data likely available in JSON)
it is possible to purchase API access to specific subsets of data to reduce overall cost
price is $10,000 to $15,000 annually for full API access to all NexisUni products
subset API access might be ~$5,000 to $6,000

Researchers who have funding must speak with our Relationship Manager to arrange their access.

Librarians can contact SRD to find who that person is.

Questions?

For help, please contact the librarian for your subject area. We have a guide to library specialists by subject.