Text Data Mining

The Chronicling America API provides access to information about historic U.S. newspapers and millions of digitized newspaper pages and their OCR data is available for bulk download. See the full list of digitized newspaper titles (1836-1922) for more information.

Multiple collections of digitized primary sources related to southern history, literature, and culture. Some collections offer plain-text downloads in their entirety: The Church in the Southern Black Community, First-Person Narratives of the American South, Library of Southern Literature, North American Slave Narratives.

Nearly 14 million books from the HathiTrust Library are currently available for analysis, offering various levels of immediate access. There are three primary modes of access to texts in HTRC:

• Datasets (Extracted Features and more) - You can download ngrams from over 17 million volumes in the HT library, including in-copyright works, to analyze in the computing environment of your choice.
  
• Data Capsules - A secure, virtual computer for non-consumptive analytical access to the full OCR text of works in the HT Library.
  
• Text Analysis Algorithms and Worksets - Web-based, click-and-run tools that perform computational text analysis on a set of texts you choose (worksets). No programming required.

The Text Creation Partnership has produced approximately 73,000 accurate, searchable, full-text transcriptions of early print books. The Collection contains:

• Early English Books Online
• Eighteenth-Century Collections Online
  
• Evans Early American Imprints