LibGuides: HIS 346N INDIAN SUBCONTINENT, 1750-1950: Secondary Sources

Finding Secondary Sources

Article Databases/Indexes
Encyclopedias

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1865 - present. Unlimited users.

Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
1971 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Includes citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (before 1992), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Corresponds in part to the print Bibliography of Asian Studies.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1955 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
1770 - 1931. Unlimited users.
Covers multiple content types, providing records for more than 11 million documents ranging from books and newspapers to government documents and periodicals. Collection of ten digital archives, including such notable indexes as House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, and Palmer’s Index to the Times of London. Each index can be searched separately, or a comprehensive search of the entire database is also possible.
Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies This link opens in a new window
1702 - 1879. Unlimited users.
The Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879 collection represents literature of the British Empire, specifically focusing on colonial North America. Many of the periodicals were printed in Europe, Canada or appear as publications reissued in America. A few titles come from Asia. Notable editors and contributors include Joseph Addison, Daniel Defoe, Samuel Johnson, Thomas Paine, and Richard Steele. As a whole, these titles provide scholars with a unique insight into the colonies' complex relationship with European home countries as they developed their own identity in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History is a dynamic online research encyclopedia which provides access to state-of-the-art research and also connects readers to the full range of internet resources for research and teaching, including audio, visual, video materials, digitized archives, and other primary sources. Articles are written by professional historians and independent scholars from around the world and their essays provide a comprehensive overview of each subject and a brief historiography; entries are periodically updated in response to feedback from readers and new developments in the field.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
2004 - present. Unlimited.
The Oxford Handbooks contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.

UT Austin currently has access to Handbooks in all available subject through 2024.
Wikipedia This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. A multilingual, web-based, free-content encyclopedia project based on an openly editable model. The name "Wikipedia" is a portmanteau of the words wiki (a technology for creating collaborative websites, from the Hawaiian word wiki, meaning "quick") and encyclopedia. Wikipedia's articles provide links to guide the user to related pages with additional information.

Choosing a Database

In addition to the general search options above, search in library databases to find more articles related to your topic.

Some databases like Academic Search Complete are multidisciplinary:

Include popular and scholarly articles on all topics
Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
Great for assignments in UGS and other undergraduate courses where you may only need a few sources

For subject-specific databases, look on the Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu) or on the guide for your class or subject on this Guides List.

Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
To choose a database, think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic, then use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu on the databases page to find that department, or find the guide for that subject (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology topics).

Types of Secondary Sources

Books

Scholarly books are long publications of research, often published by university presses. They are released all at once (unlike periodicals, such as journals and newspapers), though some will be re-published in updated editions.

Some books are anthologies, which are edited collections of essays/chapters that are written by different authors. Scholarly anthologies are often thematic, covering a specific sub-field of a discipline.

Book Chapters

Book chapters are sections of a book. In the case of scholarly books, pay attention for chapters in anthologies (collections of essays written by different authors). The citations for book chapters in anthologies often look like citations for journal articles.

Peer-reviewed Journal Articles

Journal articles are shorter pieces of scholarship and are published in peer-reviewed journals. Journals are released in regular intervals, such as monthly, quarterly, or annually. Peer review refers to the journals' vetting process. Each article is reviewed by other experts and scholars for quality and accuracy.

Book Reviews

A book reviews is a type of article that analyzes and critiques a recently published book. Book reviews can be found in peer-reviewed journals, as well as mainstream publications such as newspapers and magazines.