How do I find them? - UGS 302: Science of Happiness - Iverson - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Brainstorm Search Terms (Keywords)

Library databases and Google can't be searched the same way so take a few moments to come up with a search strategy before diving into a database.

Step 1: Think about the key concepts of your topic and search those instead of an entire phrases or sentences.

Step 2: Think of other terms you could use that are synonyms or related (they could be a broader or narrower aspect). This often requires that you do a little background research to learn more.

Step 3: Connect your terms using AND and OR:

Remember -

AND narrows your topic (use AND between terms if you want them all to appear in your results)
OR broadens your topic (use OR between terms if you want any, not all, to appear in your results)

Generate Keywords from a Topic
This tool can help you create search terms and formulate an effective search.
Google Gemini
Use UT's licensed version of GoogleGemini by making sure you are logged into your @utexas account to protect your data privacy.

Use this or another LLM like ChatGPT to help generate search terms formatted for a library search.

Example prompt: Generate search terms I can use to find peer-reviewed articles in a library database using boolean logic. My topic is the brain chemistry of using delta-9 for depression.

Libraries Search Box
Search across many of the Libraries electronic and print resources at once. Includes articles, books, ebooks and more.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly articles using a Google search. Use GoogleScholar through this guide or the Libraries home page to pass by the paywall and get access with your EID.
Academic Search Complete
Find scholarly and non-scholarly articles from all disciplines. You mayhave used this in HS.
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
Find scholarly articles in psychology, including psychobiology and neurospychology

Includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
PubMed
Find medical and scientific reearch articles.

All Library Databases
UT Libraries has over 900 databases. Pick one by subject to find peer-reviewed articles in your discipline.

In the Libraries Search Tool: Look for the "get pdf or "available online" link. If it says it is only available in print, click Get a Scan to have the article scanned and emailed to you (for free).
In GoogleScholar: Look for the html or pdf link (and you may have to log in with your EID). If you don't see either, look for the View it @ UT link.
In Library Databases: Look for the pdf, full text, or hmtl link. If none are available, look for Find it at UT to find it in another database.

If none of those work, look up the article title in the Libraries Search tool to see if we have it.

If you can't find it, request it (for free) through Interlibrary Loan and we'll scan and email it to you.

Find Articles Tutorials

$18m +

The UT Libraries spends over $16 million/year licensing access to scholarly information, including peer-reviewed articles. Although they are behind a paywall, you can access them on and off campus through the library website or this guide with your EID.